It’s a Puzzle!

Butter wouldn't melt in my mouth - but a Jigsaw piece might! Little Monkey

Butter wouldn’t melt in my mouth – but a Jigsaw piece might! Little Monkey

During the cold winter months, one of my favourite activities is to lie on the floor with a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle, and wile away an hour or two slowly building up a picture.

As I was getting to the end of one jigsaw, I was puzzled. It was obvious from the picture that there should be quite a few cream pieces left, for the beech trees. However, I couldn’t see this colour amongst the remaining pieces.

Just then, a voice from the garden called, “Are you missing any jigsaw pieces?”

Me, “Yes, I am.”

There on the trowel, in Little Monkey’s pooh, was evidence of many pieces. They had travelled through her digestive tract, relatively in tact, and emerged out the other end, soggy and swollen, but still clearly recognisable as my missing beech tree.

“Do you want them?”

Let me think for a moment; “No, thank you!”

The tally for that one jigsaw; 40 pieces missing, presumed eaten..

Since then, I no longer lie on the floor with my jigsaws, but have taken to making them on the table. Now the Idiot skulks around underneath when I am not looking, stealing any stray piece that happens to fall on the floor.

I caught her one time, moving away from the table. Although she wasn’t eating anything, there was something about her body language that made me ask her,

“What have you got there?”

Blink.

“Drop it!”

Pleh.

And out pops one poor soggy jigsaw piece!

This one I washed and saved, but sadly, it was never the same again.

 

2 thoughts on “It’s a Puzzle!

  1. Garfield Hug

    I enjoyed reading this! Hilarious as I could picture your dog taking that piece. I love jigsaw puzzles too and would be so engrossed in finishing it in a week that I would spend my vacation doing it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

