Sunday Musings #3

Not seen on a coffee coaster! (maybe it should be) – but words of wisdom from an older lady, who believed the best way to raise kids was to:

Apply the hand of knowledge to the seat of learning!

I got chatting to an amazing American woman at the Post Office the other day. It was one of those unique occasions when you meet someone new and just click. Somehow we got on to kids these days, and their lack of discipline. She gave me the above words of wisdom.

post script: I feel obliged to add a disclaimer here – I do not agree with hitting a child. I grew up in schools where caning occurred frequently. It did not work.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #3

  1. dogdaz

    I don’t believe in hitting, but I was spanked as a child and did not have ‘permanent’ damage from it (that I am aware of). There are so many more methods that we have to deal with situations now, that no one should ever have to result to violence.

    Like

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      True – times change. At my kids’ school they used community work as a more positive kind of discipline; pick up litter off the field, help at the recycling depot etc Seemed to work well. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

