Houston – We have a Problem!

There’s a glitch in the matrix! My follower count has got stuck at 120. When a new blogger follows me, one of my first followers is deleted. I have posted a question in the word.press forum, but no-one is reading it, or replying to it. It’s been 2 days now.

I have become rather attached to my little group of followers, though I am well aware that 90% of them do not actually follow me! I still follow the first person to like one of my posts and follow my blog; even though I know she only did it so I would follow her and she could reach her goal of 10,000 followers. I know she has never again visited my site, and probably promptly un-followed me as soon as I followed her. It doesn’t matter. I enjoy reading her posts every day, and commenting now and then. It is my choice to follow her. And I do follow blogs I enjoy, whether they reciprocate or not. It isn’t all about the numbers to me. I’d rather have a few friends who drop by now and then and have a chat, than 10,000 faceless followers with whom it is obviously impossible to keep in contact. (Which is just as well, really 😉 )

So, what about my technical difficulties? This post started out yesterday as a cry for help, but in the meantime I have since sorted it out by myself! (I know – gasp!!) I re-read stuff and saw they said to clear your browser cache and cookies. I hadn’t bothered with this before, because one: I have been blogging such a short time, how much baggage could I have acquired? and two: when I looked on line, previous bloggers with my problem had to get help from tech support.

Well, I figured nothing ventured, nothing gained and set about following their step by step instructions to delete my browser cache. (Note: They do say Not to delete your word.press cookies or your laptop will implode.)

Et Voila! My followers are all back; all 125 of them.

So then I un-subscribed from my support forums, where no-one was helping me anyway. It is as usual – if you want something done, do it yourself!

Being scifihammy, I wanted to know why this works. Apparently, your computer stores your blog info in a cache and then goes looking for it there, instead of online where it is up to date. So you end up with old info, or glitches, like I got.

post script: If you read this and shook your head at my ineptitude, that’s OK. I never claimed to be a computer whiz. I danced when I sussed out how to add photos to my posts! But I am willing to learn. And, just occasionally, I amaze my family with something I know that they don’t. So it’s all good.

15 thoughts on “Houston – We have a Problem!

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Hi 🙂 Sorry to hear of your glitch. You could try 1. log on to you blog from another computer and see if you still have problems. 2. Go to support and see if any forums address your issue – if so join them, or start your own. 3. In my comments on this post, AV suggests asking his “WP Happiness Engineer” – who is rachelsquirrel.com. I hope your problem is soon sorted. It is very frustrating! Good Luck 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Sometimes there is no explanation why things go haywire. Sometimes there is. Glad you figured it out. I usual skip the forums and go straight to WP support. I’m paying them for service and they are usually pretty good about it and fix my issues.

    Like

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Ah – there’s the rub – I don’t pay anything – so my only option is the forums. It’s all good though. I just need to be more patient, and learn more about computers! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. ady

    This happened to me the first time I tried even editing my post,it just didn’t update even after cookies or cache.I tried again and again ,then left it that day and next day somehow my trials finally succeeded.And then there is the log out problem from phone….But good thing,you worked it out….Congratulations for both brain-storming and followers…:)

    Like

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yeah, it is hard to solve a problem when, like me, you don’t really understand What the problem is in the first place! As to follows, I have about 10 real ones, like yourself. The rest I think were advertisers, or after numbers, or clicked on follow by mistake hehe 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. ouachitashutterbug

    Good info for future use if I find myself ‘stuck’. My outlook on my blog is first I have to enjoy what I’m doing and the results.. then if anyone else likes it then that is just icing on the cake. For some it is just a numbers game much like Facebook. A race to gather as many as they can with no interest or regard for the content. I guess that’s why I’ve been stuck with 28 friends for quite some time. 🙂 Keep up the great work and glad you are back on schedule!

    Like

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I think people who blog for fun find the most reward from the experience. Like you, I like to produce a post I am happy with. Along the way I am slowly finding a little community of bloggers whose posts I like to read every day. It is enough 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

