A Stitch in Time

A Stitch in Time

A Stitch in Time

I have knitted since I was a young kid. When I was eight years old I knitted a jersey for myself – in 10 days. Yes, I know I was small, but my Mum kept making me knit it bigger. I was one of 5 kids, so I guess she wanted the clothes to last. That jersey still fit me when I was 11 years old; and I had grown a lot in those three years!

Nowadays, I like to knit these squares, with thick wool on large needles. I don’t have to look at what I’m doing, and I don’t have to think about it either. I usually listen to music or watch something. (When it is an exciting movie, I look down and find I have knitted a long rectangle instead of a square!) I normally only knit in winter, but somehow I just kept going last summer; so I ended up with all this.

Knitted Squares

Knitted Squares

I sew the squares up into small blankets to be used as a baby blanket, knee rug, or shoulder throw. I give them to a charity or take them to a local animal rescue shop to sell for funds for their organisation. This winter I have taken two already, and have three more here sewn up, and squares for at least two more blankets.

So a stitch in time makes a lot of blankets!

6 thoughts on “A Stitch in Time

    1. scifihammy Post author

      There is something special in wearing a loved ones clothes 🙂 I’m glad you have some keepsakes. I treasure the few things I have of my parents 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

