The Road Less Travelled

The Dell - Kirstenbosch

The Dell – Kirstenbosch

Serenity

 Careful on the stepping stones

Amidst the burbling stream,

Surrounded by tall shading trees

Just let your spirit dream.

 

While nature takes you back in time

With birdsong in the breeze,

And cares are carried far away,

Like whispers in the leaves.

 

Watch light-play on the ripples till

They mesmerise your mind

And as each sparkle dissipates

You feel yourself unwind.

 

Let water trickle through your hand

And take with it all thought,

Breathe deep from nature’s bounty and

Find solace that you sought.

 

Even on the hottest of days, the Dell at Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens, Cape Town, is always cool, quiet and still, providing a welcome respite from the heat, noise and bustle of civilisation.

post script: The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost –

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both . . .

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

12 thoughts on “The Road Less Travelled

  1. Pingback: Sunday Musings #33 | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Pingback: Now That’s what I call a Bird Bath! | Mad Cap Dog

  3. ady

    When I started reading,I felt the hint of robert frost and when I reached the end,indeed it was inspired by him..when nature starts talking to you,it becomes a beautiful dream …. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. ady

        Infact I also love his poems and I had written similar poem on’ Miles to go before I sleep’ unfortunately ,I misplaced my poem book…I will show it t you if I find it…Writing his style gives a peace and silent joy…:)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂 Spent a few weeks working on the poem. This place is special – the kids walked barefoot on those stones when tiny. Nice to have somewhere to go that has not changed over the decades. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

