Why I am Not a World-Renowned Wildlife Photographer

Olive Thrush

Olive Thrush

I thought I had finally managed to photograph the elusive Olive Thrush. I had seen it around my garden for a while now, but it always flew away before I could take its picture. Then I saw it on my stoep. I grabbed my camera and from 10 metres back inside the house, with maximum zoom, I tried my luck. I couldn’t get any closer because my dog, Little Monkey, was right by the door, and any movement on my part would have resulted in instant investigation by her. So this was the result. Bum Cheeks!

Olive Thrush 2

Olive Thrush 2

If you’d like to see really good bird photos you could try one of the blogs I follow –

The Ouachita Shutterbug

Birds by Dave

18 thoughts on “Why I am Not a World-Renowned Wildlife Photographer

  1. Pingback: Cape Robin | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Pingback: The Culprit! | Mad Cap Dog

  3. Pebbles On The Road

    I. also, love photographing wildlife but have millions of blurry bad shots. Occasionally I’ll get really, really, really lucky and actually get one that’s worth kepping and bragging about. Thank goodness for digital photography! Otherwise I shudder to think of the kazillions of dollars I’d be spending on film and developing prints.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      This is true – photos used to cost a packet! I just point and click in the general direction – gotta be quick with my dogs around! – and have fun looking through the shots afterwards. Often get some surprising results.:)

      Like

      Reply
  4. ouachitashutterbug

    I know how you feel.. so the last two weeks I’ve been working on a feeder that I’m trying to bring the birds closer to me. Of course like you I have 5 investigators that keep the birds scattered unless I sit outside for a long period of time and they eventually lose interest. Keep at it and you’ll be astounding us with the elusive Olive Thrush’s front and head in no time. πŸ™‚ Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

