La Belle Fleur

La Belle Fleur

La Belle Fleur

Five years of being taught the French language at an English Grammar school, and pretty much all I can say is, “Voici la plume de ma tante!” (Here is my aunt’s pen.) Now I rarely saw any aunts, but when I did, the opportunity never arose to use this useful phrase!

So these limited language skills didn’t help me much in Paris that summer, all those years ago. No-one seemed to understand me – or chose not to because I was English! Even the guy sweeping the street, after trying to understand my garbled French for a few minutes, replied to my final effort of, “Où est le métro?” (Where is the underground?) with directions given in perfect English!

So why are the English rubbish at languages? (or is that just me?)

I think it is because they assume that wherever you go in the world, the “natives” will speak way better English than you can ever hope to speak their language! So why bother teaching a foreign language well at school?

 

17 thoughts on “La Belle Fleur

  1. Pingback: Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam | Mad Cap Dog

    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha! At school we were told it was very rude to say “Vous cassez les pieds!” “You break my feet!” But I think the teacher was having us on! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        haha I know! That was about the one thing I got right. I’d been told just asking for coffee got you a tiny espresso. So you needed to ask for café au lait. Moot point, cos we had no money to buy one anyway! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. quiall

    Forgive me but I find that attitude most prevalent with American travelers. But not all of them!!!! Americans are the most generous people on the planet but a few ignorant travelers give them a bad rap. I have witnessed that attitude and been embarrassed. Why travel to another country to experience a different culture and them complain it’s not more like the US???? (psst I’m Canadian)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I agree. When I travel I want to hear a different language and experience a different culture. (ooh – Canadian hehe – then maybe you speak French pretty well?)

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much for the award nomination 🙂 This is a bit awkward, because I decided when I first started blogging not to participate in awards. I did think of putting a notice on my blog, but thought that would be a bit presumptuous!
      But I am honoured that you would think of me. Thank you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. ady

        I have no interest in such things either,frankly its just a person picking up his/her favorites.I won’t say these are significant,even Freshly Pressed also is not an exact parameter,may be we can make this chain letter for funny questions and answers… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        It is a matter of personal choice 🙂 Lots of bloggers have lots of awards and display them on their blogs, which is great. Then again, lots of bloggers choose not to, which is also fine. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

