Waiting on line!

Scifihammy - A Shadow of her Former Self

Scifihammy – A Shadow of her Former Self

Hooray for me! I have published a post every day for the past 4 months. (This is my 147th)

Sadly, my internet sucks – as it does for most South Africans, no matter how much money you spend on it every month. When I try to read my WP reader, it takes forever to download, especially photos. When I try to visit someone’s blog, I leave it “spinning” and go do something else for half an hour, often to return to find it has timed-out or crashed. It is very frustrating!

Next month, my daughter will be visiting from the UK, so obviously I will be busy spending time with her.

These two events combine to make it likely that I will only be posting a few times a week for the moment.

While it doesn’t take me that long to write a post, particularly if it is mostly a photo, it does take me a very long time to publish the post, particularly if it is a photo! It also takes a very long time to read other people’s posts – (see internet rubbish above!)

And the blog world is two-way. Why should you read my posts, if I am not reading yours?

But though I may not be able to visit and comment on your posts every day, I will visit you as often as I can, and I will catch up on all your old posts. And though I won’t actually be absent, I won’t be as present! And as the saying goes –

Absence makes the heart grow fonder!

 

30 thoughts on “Waiting on line!

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw thanks 🙂 Yes I do know, and have lots of drafts written – but it still doesn’t help with the slow internet and trying to visit other people’s blogs to comment. sigh! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  1. kismet

    Sigh!!! I has a feeling I might cry…my sniffles are starting already….but don’t you be gone to far or too long ❤❤❤❤loads of hugs and loves 😻😻😻

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. kismet

        Yay 😻😻yay 😻😻I go get us some tea….as long as you can manage to drop by from time to time I shall control them sniffles …..I sends you a biiiig hug 😊😊

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂 They just mount up 🙂 Sympathies for your slow internet! I know I shouldn’t complain because I still remember when it took 20 minutes to download a 1MB photo! Yes Really! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. quiall

    For the record I read your blog because I love the content. If you chose not to read my blog I would be disappointed but not upset. I love your words and your pictures. You make me smile and yes I have shed a tear or two. But family comes first. Always. I will wait with bated breath for your return.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much 🙂 I also read your blog because I like your daily quotes, and weekend “essays” 🙂
      I will still pop by 🙂 But yeah, family first 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. ady

    Congratulations on steady work ! Wish I could be that systematic 🙂 It would be awesome time for you and your family.Don’t worry,friends here know and are happy knowing you will have a great time.We are not going anywhere,so catch us up when you become free 😀
    Internet thing,I can understand.Sometime,if someone has posted high resolution/full size image,I am lost in that spinning circle…Sometimes,I can’t open my own posts !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I knew you would understand the internet thing! It is so frustrating! I blog for fun – it is not supposed to be stressful!
      I will still be around, just not as much. I want to see your photos from your new camera 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. ady

        Well,last post and today’s would be from my new camera .I am so excited that I always think of going somewhere and discover something nice.Feeling a bit eccentric though 😉

        Whenever you will be around,count me in for a small chit-chat 😀 I love it …

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        It is exciting to have a new camera and explore 🙂 I’ll probably have to wait til tonight to see your post, as no photos are downloading in my WP reader – not even mine! haha
        I will stop by for a chat now and then, for sure 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

