I Live Here

Wine Farm

Wine Farm

Vineyard in early summer.Β This is where excellent South African wine begins.

The mountain range at the back is like an elephant lying down, with its trunk towards the left. There is a cave that you can climb up to, right where its eye would be. The cave is called – wait for it – Elephant’s Eye Cave!!

It was a grey, over-cast, cold, winter’s, summer’s day – you get these in Cape Town – so unfortunately the light was bad. Still, you get the picture?

I Live Here

I Live Here

I live here. Well, when I say here, I mean, I live in the area – not actually in the Cape Dutch house!

27 thoughts on “I Live Here

  1. Pingback: I Live Here Also | Mad Cap Dog

    1. scifihammy Post author

      All’s well thank you – just busy Spring cleaning before my daughter arrives for a visit, from UK, so only posting every other day.
      Cape Town does have the most beautiful scenery πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      This is just one teeny vineyard. There are mountains (Table Mountain especially,) forests, seas and so much more. And if the weather is horrid – shopping πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh yeah! Called “Wine tasting” you can get free samples at most of the bigger wine estates. There is even the “Wine Route” – Drive from one vineyard to another πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Best time to visit – when your snow is heaviest! πŸ˜€
      SA wines are excellent! – But I have a feeling you have to get them in SA – the “SA” stuff I had in UK last year was disgusting!!

      Like

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        I’d be interested to know if you find any SA wines – and if so, what sorts. All types of wine are made here, and red or white. I prefer the not too dry white wines, such as Sauvignon Blanc, or Chenin Blanc. I have my concerns as to what may be available to you tho – cos the SA wine I bought in UK was undrinkable! Don’t know Where they got it from – but it was no known vineyard! – and vinegary!
        Wines that I think May be exported are Nederburg, Fleur du Cap, Durbanville Hills.
        Happy hunting. – but really you have to come here and drink the wine in the vineyard πŸ˜€

        Like

      2. Midwestern Plant Girl

        You’ve given me some great info to search on. =-) And luckily, the liquor store I go to has a search on their site.. Seems they have Fleur du Cap Chardonnay & 2012 Nederburg Lyric there, no Durbanville. Lyric sounds great, I’ll buy one and give you a critique.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. scifihammy Post author

        Either of those wines are good. I particularly like the Lyric. I just hope it is of the same quality for you in USA – after shipping!
        btw a bottle costs c 4 US dollars here – so you know how much they are ripping you off πŸ˜‰
        Cheers!

        Like

Leave a Reply

