Silver Threads Among the Gold

Silver Threads - LM

Silver Threads – LM

Darling I am growing old

Silver threads among the gold

Shine upon my jowl* today

Life is fading fast away

 

Little Monkey attacks life head on with a vengeance. Always full of energy and mischief, it is hard to remember, sometimes, that the young one I adopted at eighteen months, is now over nine years.

These silver hairs, on her once jet black muzzle, remind me.

And my silver hairs, you ask? (Not that I have any!) That’s why hair dye was invented . . . you’ll never know!!

post script:Β The words are taken from an old song (with the word brow changed to jowl) in an old music book, that originally cost three shillings. There is no credit given to the lyricist or composer, so I was just going to leave it there, then thought, what else is google for, if not this?

So, the words are by Eben E. Rexford and the music by Hart Pease Danks, copyrighted in 1873. For more info you could tryΒ Silver Threads Among The Gold

Now, wasn’t that worth it to find those marvellous names?

And if you want to hear it sung, I quite like Foster and Allen’s version.

18 thoughts on “Silver Threads Among the Gold

  1. teamwanderlustfl

    What a sweet face! Reminds me of my dog. She lives with my parents – they sort of adopted her when I went to college. She’s so happy, but she’s getting old and it’s breaking my heart. I love her so.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It is extremely hard for us to watch our loved pets growing old. But if it’s any consolation, They don’t worry about it – they live each day anew, right up to the last. I try to follow their example. Just enjoy the time you have together πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the visit, likes, comments and follow πŸ™‚ Gonna visit you and follow now πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Mike Fuller Author

    My shepherd didn’t go gray. He didn’t make it that far. We lost him when he was ten to hip disease. Ugly painful near the end. I still mist up just thinking about him. I gave his spirit new life though using him in my first two (so far) books as one of my dog characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw, sorry to hear about your dog. It is always hard to lose a best friend, but especially in such circumstances. They never leave our hearts, and I think it is great you write about him πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Well this is it – If it wasn’t for these silver hairs, you would Never guess LM’s age! That is why it is such a shock to see them when she lies down! She wears her age very well πŸ™‚
      Oh, and Sparky put in a special appearance about 6 posts ago – check it out if you like – The squirrel, the loquat and the terracotta warrior πŸ™‚
      PS Good to see you back – I miss your posts πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. ady

    Such a sweet poem ! And your sense of humor is impeccable πŸ˜‰ So nice of you to mention the writer πŸ™‚ Btw the song is making me tearful … But I will go to bed tonight remembering all the love for loved one. ❀ Thank you….

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

