Tree Snake!

Boomslang 1

Boomslang 1

The Tree Canopy Walkway, or Boomslang* as it is called locally, is a relatively new feature at Kirtsenbosch Botanical Gardens. A short ascent through the gardens leads you to the start of this suspended bridge. Surprisingly, you step out over the tree tops and find these spectacular views.

Boomslang 2 - To the Far Horizons

Boomslang 2 – To the Far Horizons

My daughter Pix takes a moment to enjoy the view.

Although I was not scared of the height, as I half expected to be, I did have a problem telling my brain that I did not have vertigo (inner ear problem).

– That it was simply all the people and little kids bouncing around on the platform and making it tremble.

The Top of the World

The Top of the World – Looking out over Tree Tops

– That gave my vision that movement when I looked out over the tree tops.

The treesΒ were not moving, I was!

post script: *Boomslang is Afrikaans for a particularly poisonous snake. It translates literally as Tree Snake.Β 

 

34 thoughts on “Tree Snake!

    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha I am still laughing!
      It’d be a bit hard to actually “fall” – you’d have to climb over the hand rail and jump more like. But yeah – if you could catch a bouncy kid or two – would sure make for a soft landing! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. ady

    It’s so high and the sky is blue and I loved the mountain tops hiding in clouds ❀ Beautiful shots,Sci…Must be a joy living there … I don't have vertigo but standing on shaky bridge will sure shake my brain cells πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. ady

        You have a mountain,I have a lake πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        ok… you won’t get the joke, In an old blockbuster Indian film ,the hero(who has gone in wrong way ) asks his brother(second hero),” I have money,bungalow,cars,servants,everything, What do you have ?” The second hero answers with proud teary eyes,” I have mother” …

        So this became a funny trendy dialogue used in jovial comparisons πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ladysighs

    How neat! I almost didn’t read your entry today …. the title was a bit scary…..don’t like snakes. 😦 I did click the link to the Gardens and enjoyed reading about this walkway.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I Did wonder about my title today, as I have another friend who is afraid of snakes – But it is what it is called after all πŸ™‚ And I put the snake link as optional πŸ™‚ No sudden surprises πŸ™‚
      Thank you for reading πŸ™‚ I do think Kirstenbosch is always worth a visit. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Leave a Reply

