Surf’s Up

Surf Breaking on Rocks

Surf Breaking on Rocks

Standing up here on the top of the cliffs and looking down into the sea, offers you a wonderful view of the surf crashing onto the rocks below.

Sky Surf

Sky Surf

Or does it?

Yep – This is the sky!

Did I get ya?

Anyhow, there really is the best surfing in the world to be had on South African beaches!

What about the Great White Sharks, you ask? Agh, moenie panic nie! All you have to do – is swim faster than the next guy!!

post script: For if you ever get to SA and want to surf, these are the ten best surfing spots.

 

39 thoughts on “Surf’s Up

  1. faburlifekhloe

    Those clouds reminds me so much of marshmallow…soft and fluffy πŸ˜› It’s very rare to see a gorgeous sky like that in HK, but I’m glad to see it from your blog πŸ˜‰ Beautiful capture Sci! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I had to google Minnesota to see where it is πŸ™‚ Sooo, not too close to the sea then! I wonder what your predators are? Alligators, Bears, Raccoons? πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. Crooked Tracks

        I am not far from Lake Superior, it is as big as a sea πŸ™‚
        Black bears will attack people and moose too.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. ady

    It’s so wonderful !! Like a sea full of white foam of waves !!! Marvelous capture Sci πŸ˜€ Do you surf ?? If possible will you share some surfing pictures ?? Are there really sharks in the water ?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      No I don’t surf, but I know those who do. And Yes there are sometimes sharks in the water. Mostly they are spotted and you are warned not to swim. Now and then someone loses a leg or a life. But it is rare.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        hahaha πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t be able to see a shark. They swim far out in the surf line. Life Guards sit high up on seats, and they can sometimes spot them. Sorry Ady – you’ll have to watch a Nature programme for your shark footage πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      2. ady

        Ha ha πŸ™‚ Even if you can’t click them,I am sure you will see much wonderful things this summer,may be a whale too and if that happens,I would love to just hear about it πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. quiall

    hahaha swim faster….! I love it. Love sharks from a great distance! When I saw the first picture I was sure one of us was crazy. I do love cloud shots, good one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I think we may Both be crazy – but in a good way πŸ™‚ haha
      Yes, I was trying to be kind, and not crop the first photo too much. Seems it made it too easy. I shall have to return to my usual cunning πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        haha Good πŸ™‚
        btw I haven’t seen your posts in my WP reader lately – and am just trying to visit your blog – internet permitting. It looks like I am no longer following you – despite never having Unfollowed you!! I shall Re-follow and see if that works again. But it may explain my absence!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. pensitivity101

        How strange, as I’ve been seeing your likes and comments OK, Mind you, I also ‘lost’ a few people in my reader and had to refollow.
        Have been putting out quite a few posts daily lately, so hope you don’t get too bored catching up if you’ve missed any! Welcome back!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. scifihammy Post author

        It looks like I have missed a lot – but your Blog won’t load properly yet. I’m afraid I’ll have to wait till tonight when the internet should be working again.
        Someone said they couldn’t Like my posts, so something is definitely going on.
        How can I suddenly not be following you when I have not changed it? Also, your gravatar is just a b/w shapeless head – you know? But I’ll persist! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      4. pensitivity101

        Are you aware of any censorship or restrictions going on? Sometimes I can’t get into a blog post because it’s ‘too busy’, and even Hubby’s blog doesn’t put me in his reader sometimes (sob) !

        Liked by 1 person

      5. scifihammy Post author

        Oh No! That’s not on!
        No I don’t know of any restrictions. And I don’t want to bother Rachel Squirrel again! I felt I did enough complaining about the “new improved” WP! But judging by the comments, quite a few people were unhappy!

        Like

      6. pensitivity101

        Phew, that’s good to know then!
        New improved doesn’t seem to be all that brilliant imo, but we’re muddling through (and using the old formats wherever possible!) πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

