HOT Off the Press!

Hot

Hot

Literally!

Just thought I’d show you what Capetonians have to look forward to this week, weather-wise. These are the maximum and minimum temperatures for the next few days, according to Yahoo on my old iPhone.

It’s OK if there’s a bit of a breeze, but otherwise, coming from the North of England, I melt. Mind you 36C is hot even for here.

I realise that all of you snowbound in the Northern hemisphere may look at these temperatures with longing. But believe me, there is such a thing as too hot.

If you’re cold, you can always put on another jersey. But when you’re too hot, you just keep quaffing gallons of ice cold water all day, till you slosh around like a cartoon character with all the volume collapsed around your knees.

And still you melt.

The hottest I’ve ever been was living in the Northern Cape for a year, where temperatures reached 41C in summer, and it snowed in winter. This was near Kimberley (160km) and Kuruman (100km). There’s a place out there called Hotazel – no really!

And you want to know the worst? It’s not even full summer yet. February is the hottest month!

 

43 thoughts on “HOT Off the Press!

  1. Photo Granny

    I am just delighted to think of things topsy-turvy. Since I live in the Northern Hemisphere, it’s cold today. Fall is in October when it must be spring where you are. Hotazel in February! I love it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, I do love the WP community, and finding things out from all over the world. I used to live in UK, and even tho I’ve been here years, it Still feels topsy turvy to me ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. ady

    Last winter I might have welcomed the summer happily but after 7scorching months I think i btetter to put on an extra jacket ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„s

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Well this is it! Right now all I can think about is being cooler – but in mid-winter, after weeks on end of dreary wind and driving rain – I will be wishing for summer! It is the human personality! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. pensitivity101

    How could you post this when Hubby and I are getting funny looks from a lot of brass monkeys!!!! Ha ha. ๐Ÿ˜€
    Know what you mean though getting too hot, there is only so much you can take off before you get arrested. In the summer, we shall literally be in our own sweat box on the boat and know first hand what a baked bean feels like. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      This was not my intended post for the day – but when I checked my phone temps, as I do each morning, I felt the need! And sympathies to you when summer bakes you in your boat!

      Like

      Reply
      1. pensitivity101

        we check the radar every day in case we have to double up on the ropes. In the Summer of 2013 the temperature in our conservatory went up to 39 degrees C. We couldn’t go out there, and kept the kitchen door closed. At night, the temperature was 27 degrees but because of the noise, we couldn’t open any windows and had the fans going all night. No fans in the boat, but we have windows, the bow doors, the hatchway in the kitchen and the door at the back……. plus the beauty of peace and quiet. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Mike Fuller Author

    Oh, CENTIGRADE! Had to dig out “the formula” to figure the F equivalent. Almost forgot you’re on the other side. As you grow older, cold becomes much less desirable. You know you’ve gone over the hill when your conversations with friends tend to revolve around the latest doctor’s visit or what hurts or aches today. The price we pay for survival.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  5. Garfield Hug

    UGH!! I have the same heat – today my car recorded 35C!! I literally could melt and had the air conditioning set at 18C! Nice! Give me the cold anytime and as you rightly shared, if it is cold, I can pile on the jumpers. In the heat, little we can do ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It is hard to comprehend, and I wonder how much we can undo what we have already done.
      On a less serious note, try convincing an Englishman that global warming is a bad thing! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

