Blue Moon

Blue Moon

Blue Moon

I love seeing the Moon during the day; hanging there in the sky.

How did I take such a marvellous photo of it? (Yes, I can hear you laughing!)

I only have a trusty old Canon 10MP point and click. This is the best I’m gonna get! And quite frankly, I am amazed there is any definition at all!

post script: What is a Blue Moon?Β Normally a season has only 3 full moons. When it has 4, the 3rd moon is then referred to as a Blue Moon. There is a Blue Moon about once every 32 months on average, which may be the reason for the expression Once in a Blue Moon. An ‘actual’ Blue Moon, is when the moon appears blue due to atmospheric conditions eg after Β volcanic eruptions.

Now you’ve all got that song stuck in your head have a listen to the 1961 version by the Marcels – Blue Moon

 

52 thoughts on “Blue Moon

  1. Pingback: Pink Moon | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Pingback: Moon Over Miami | Mad Cap Dog

      1. ady

        My dear the bigger the cameras the better shots they have , skills are not relevant here πŸ™‚ I have seen some planet looking detailed moon pics,it looks 3-D real πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Photo Granny

    Why, this is an excellent picture with lots of detail! You and you’re 10mp camera do an excellent job of capturing beauty, if you ask me! For all that one I have costs, I didn’t get a better shot — just a different shot. It’s good to hear you also like wine. I enjoy at least a glass most evenings. More than that is probably too much, but the one glass seems to relax me and give me permission not to work or stress over things. Life is good — and moonshots are beautiful! I always look forward to the moon’s reappearance when it’s not visible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚ yes, I do love moon and star gazing πŸ™‚ And where would life be without that relaxing glass of wine in the evening πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. mistermuse

    “Blue Moon” is a Rogers & Hart song written in 1934. I’m not sure they would’ve gone for this doo-wop version, but I dig it even though I normally prefer the “straight” versions of the old standards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      I agree that the original versions of songs are usually the best, but sometimes it’s fun to hear a different (not necessarily better) interpretation πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ I think maybe the blue sky sort of makes up for the lack of clarity in the shot of the moon πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Bad touch Bear

    I honestly prefer ‘Blue Moon’ sung by Ella Fitzgerald; but this song was so nice and poppy it woke me up.

    I can never seem to find the moon in the sky – I’m always facing the wrong direction!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      I struggled to find a good recording of the song, and like you say, this one is poppy. It’s not always easy to see the moon during the day. Luckily, here, the conditions are good πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. scifihammy Post author

        haha Thank you πŸ™‚ Boost my ego!!
        btw I’ve not seen any posts from you today – which could be my WP playing up?? you have normally got a few out by now. Hope all ok πŸ™‚

        Like

      2. Garfield Hug

        You missed my voice!!*blush*
        Am so touched!! And you cared *warm feeling felt*
        I have been so busy with work potentials that I just got home. 9pm. Managed to get one out! Now rummage a meal and probably write more if I am not zonked out!! Thanks Sci!β™₯

        Liked by 1 person

      3. scifihammy Post author

        haha I’ve just seen it, and am now loading your blog (slow internet!) Gonna have a quick swim to cool off (far too hot today) then read. πŸ™‚
        Great you are busy with work potentials πŸ™‚
        And of course I missed you! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. faburlifekhloe

    You’re the champ Sci! ❀ Using Canon 10MP only and I must say it was a wonderful shot!!! πŸ™‚ I don't even know there was an interesting fact behind the expression "once in a blue moon". Clap clap to you for enriching my knowledge πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I think you might be the only one not laughing πŸ™‚
      There must be many expressions which are known in one country and not another – sheesh that could be a whole Series of blogs πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. faburlifekhloe

        hahahahhaha thank you for the offer but I’m not good at it…yea you do spend a lot of time on blogging for sure, so only do that series when you feel like too sweetie πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

      2. faburlifekhloe

        No worries! Take your time! πŸ˜‰ Even if you don’t want to do it, it’s all good dear πŸ™‚ They should always be the first on the blog since they are superstar πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Lucy

    Haha, how did you figured I was laughing? :)) Great picture! My camera doesn’t do such a great job when it comes to moon pictures. I see beauty, the camera sees a dot. It’s definitely special to see the moon and the sun, on the sky, at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. pensitivity101

        ah, screwdrivers. Another life for me. I can’t hold my drink, so don’t bother now apart from the rare beer. We’ve finally had that last bottle from September’s Hog Roast!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.