Frangipani

Franjipani

Frangipani

This is an interactive scratch and sniff post.ย 

These beautiful flowers are in full bloom in the heart of summer here in Cape Town. Even more beautiful is their heady scent wafting on the slight breeze. No wonder they are used to make garlands or leis to greet visitors to Hawaii.

Frangipani flower 2

Frangipani flower 2

Here, for the first time on WP, I offer you a unique experience. You too can smell this exotic aroma. Ever striving to better your blogging experience, and using highly advanced technology, WP has developed this brand new technique.

How do you activate it? Gently scratch your finger nail across the photo and myriads of tiny scent molecules will be released into the air in front of you. Take a deep breath – and enjoy!

post script: Not all equipment is advanced enough to activate this new feature. Have you considered upgrading?

Disclaimer: Any damage done to delicate screens during the application of this feature is the sole responsibility of the user, and neither WP nor scifihammy will be held liable.

 

42 thoughts on “Frangipani

  1. Bad touch Bear

    Ady had posted one of these flowers before and since they aren’t native to northern America (I think) I’ve never smelt one.
    I’m jealous! Now I just want to buy some nice smelling flowers…but since its FRIGGIN SNOWING, I’ll have to settle for air freshener from the bathroom or a scented candle.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, Ady did post a lovely photo of a frangipani; hers was a little more yellow in the outer leaves, mine is pinker.
      Either of your choices is pretty good ๐Ÿ™‚ And when you are basking in summer, I will be miserable in driving rain and gale force winds!

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I think it may be humans interface with computers with chips stuck in their heads that will stimulate the correct part of the brain to make you think you are smelling frangipani! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. faburlifekhloe

    Wow they looked so beautiful! โค There is no need to scratch my screen or anything and its beautiful fragrance has already released straight from SA to HK lol ๐Ÿ˜› I wish I could see them in HK ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hehehe So Glad the scent reach you Khloe ๐Ÿ™‚
      Now then I am surprised you do not have these in HK – I would have thought it was the right weather? Maybe You should start a market for them ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        As it is growing for “free” in my front garden – Sorry Khloe, but nope, I can’t afford to buy from you!! ๐Ÿ™‚
        However, you could start a business whereby Airlines pay you to drape leis over new arrivals at HK airport ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. kismet

    I am told after my experiments that the upgrade shall cost upwards of $1500 …I did however politely enquire if I may gets a free frangipani tree along with that!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. quiall

    hahah My screen in safe: too hard to reach. We are in the middle of a blizzard with -26c windchill so looking at beautiful flowers is just the tonic I need! Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Garfield Hug

    We have this in my little red dot. It used to be a must have flowerfor wreaths at funerals in 1950s and 1960s based on pictures seen along with Spider Orchids. I don’t know why but maybe it was pretty, fragrant and a majestic bloom. As our society grew affluent, people chose more exotic blooms for funerals. The Frangipani tree is not freely planted anymore and 2 trees are left at junction of Paterson Road towards Zion Road. The only Frangipani tree left I think, is in the Botanical Gardens that keeps our heritage trees!
    Our specie of flower is a bigger bloom and a lighter shade of yellow in the center.
    But yes, the fragrance is awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Garfield Hug

        Yes….now our little red dot is hugely into tulips, tiger lilies, sunflowers and rhodendrons for special occasions! Florists make big bucks as a hand bouquet easily costs $50-$80 for couple of stalks. Do you know we are famous for orchids! But I find them plastic like. I prefer soft blooms ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      That’s odd about the bath products, but I suppose they put all sorts in too. Never heard of Plumeria, interesting ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and sorry your screen doesn’t work! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  6. ladysighs

    LOL
    I’m still trying to pronounce Frangipani. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I did wipe away some dust from my monitor while trying to smell the flowers so some good did come of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. razorbackwriteraus

    When I moved to Brisbane as a teenager, the first thing that took my breath away was the neighbours frangepani. As we didn’t have them down in the cooler southern state, this tree and its flowers was simply magic.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      The first time I saw them was in this garden ๐Ÿ™‚ Did not see them up in Jo’burg, tho they may have been there? The scent never fails to captivate on opening the front door ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

