Speak Girl, Speak! Her Master’s Voice

Little Monkey

Little Monkey – Speak Girl!

What a Hullabaloo!

I’d put my three dogs out in the front garden when suddenly I heard the most almighty racket. Lots of barking from Madam and TJ.

I went out the back way and quickly round to the side to see what was going on. Little Monkey met me at the side gate, her eyes as round as saucers, her eyebrows raised so high they were in imminent danger of leaving her forehead altogether!

“Mum! Mum! Come quick!” she said, just like Lassie in any movie. “There’s something going on in the front garden.”

I rushed through the side gate and into the front corner of the garden, where I saw Madam and TJ barking madly at my neighbour’s two small dogs. The little things had come through the railings into our garden; they were that tiny.

Little Monkey looked at me, with her worried eyebrows and oh so expressive face, and said, “See! I don’t know what to do. That’s why I came for you!”

As this was Madam and TJ’s property, they were justifiably territorial about the whole thing, and told these two small dogs exactly what they thought of the trespassing, and to get out of their garden!

Madam - A Rescue Dog

Madam – A Rescue Dog

 

 

 

TJ

TJ

I told Madam to stop it, and she backed off, though still incensed. TJ was not so easy to placate. He was going for the small dogs again and again! One of them managed to quickly slip back out through the railings to safety, but the other one seemed incapable of doing so. I guess it must have been a bit shocked, because it had certainly fit easily enough, when it had decided to enter our property in the first place.

Well, I got TJ off the second dog and picked it up, planning to take it to the gate and back across the road to its own home.Β TJ was having none of this! He leapt up in the air repeatedly, trying to nip at the small intruder, even while it was in my arms! He did not try to bite it properly and draw blood or anything. He really just wanted it to go away!

So TJ leapt at the little dog again, till it got a big fright and jumped out of my arms. And there we were, back to square one again!

Eventually, with much shouting at TJ (my voice was hoarse afterwards!) I picked up the little dog, and shoved it back out through the railings, where it ran off home. Neither of the little dogs was harmed, but they were a bit gobbed on!

I was seething by now and really cross at TJ!

I understand a dog being territorial , and wanting to chase an intruder out of his property. But once I was on the scene, the leader of the pack, that should have been it! He should have backed down and listened to me, like Madam did. But no. TJ had kept on at the little dog.

He was like this with most dogs. if they kept their distance there was no problem, but if they approached too close to him, he chased them off. I think that he had been attacked by dogs when he lived on the streets, and had a severely injured leg; a compound fracture, probably by being hit by a car. It had healed in its broken position in a letter T, so he had never been treated at a vets. I can only imagine the pain he must have been in for months while this injury healed. And how vulnerable he would have been to attack by all the other homeless dogs. This left him for the rest of his life with an “Attack is the best form of Defence” attitude. To humans he was the most loving of all my dogs, and in our little pack of three dogs, he fit in fine and never started any fights. see Portrait of a dog #2

So, after all this drama, I went back inside to make myself a cuppa and sooth my scratched throat, sore from all the shouting. When I was sitting down with my coffee and trying to de-stress, I played back through the events in my mind.

It was only then that I realised, LM could not possibly have actually spoken to me! But honestly, her face was so expressive, I heard in my head the message she was trying to convey.

They say “a picture paints a thousand words”, and her face certainly did!

 

51 thoughts on “Speak Girl, Speak! Her Master’s Voice

  1. Mister Baloney Head

    Hi TJ, Kona (aka Mr Baloney Head) here. I feel the same way when any creature walks onto MY property – especially the mail carrier GRRRRRRRR. My humans don’t like it when I try to nudge visitors out of my house. I am able to send eye messages to my lady-human – she tells me that I have a very expressive face. Oh, by the way, thanks for the follow πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Hi Mr Baloney Head πŸ™‚ Thank you for telling this to my mistress! We’re just protecting our property after all!
      You’re welcome for the follow – always nice to find new four legged friends (and owners!) – and thank you for yours too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Midwestern Plant Girl

    They are all so cute! Dogs are so smart with ‘other’ languages than English. I love figuring out how they pick up these non verbal ques. Breck knows when I say goodbye on the phone, I usually let them out. He has figured out things I do 10 steps ahead of me. Am I that predictable? To him, yes. And yes, he does speak to me also!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Aditix

    Interesting story and I like the happy ending. Don`t be to hard on yourself – dog whispering is challenging. πŸ˜‰ Even Cesar runs into difficulties sometimes… Have a great Sunday. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Awesome πŸ™‚ Start with one! (I found 3 a bit much!) You will know which is the one for you, as you will choose each other. And the name will come to you too, but I will be happy to find you a Blog pseudonym πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I am more scared when out on a walk and attacked by a dog with a useless owner. My own dogs I know very well, and they are not aggressive or vicious, so no harm done. Most of any dog fight is noise – just the unfortunate few that are really serious.

      Like

      Reply
  4. ady

    LM was very young then,I guess while madam and Tj were there,but it’s definitely difficult to handle 3 of them at such agitated moment πŸ™‚ But LM seems the cleverest of them all. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      She was the youngest, and quite anxious. The dynamics worked though, because TJ and Madam were much older and more dominant. They only died 2 1/2 years ago – when LM was 7. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha You re so right. It is something I am still learning. I even pick up more on Human energies than I used to, since I am so used to having to read dogs, because of LM. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. pensitivity101

    Maggie can be territorial, be it the car, house, tent or boat. We got round it by having the visiting dog get in first, then her. It seemed to work. Dogs faces are expressive though. I can imagine the eyebrows almost going into orbit! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      TJ was 4 times bigger than these little dogs, and could easily have done serious damage. He really just wanted them gone! So lots of gob but no real bites.
      Dogs can come visit, but I do it carefully. All going for a walk first is one way. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. pensitivity101

        We did that when we were asked to look after a resident’s dog during the day in an emergency. We took both dogs for a walk, let the visitor into the boat first, put a towel down for said visitor, and both dogs settled down for a nap. No problems. We know our pets and work around their ‘quirks’. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Mike Fuller Author

    Several years ago…our Pennsylvania home has a great back yard. Neighbors on three sides with trees and grass. At the time we had a Llasa Apso (our first and LAST of that breed) that we clipped on a an overhead run for his outside business. Our neighbors to the rear had two English bulldogs that roamed their adjoining back yard constrained by wire and post fencing. They always went doggie ballistic at the sight of our little guy bashing and straining at their fence trying to get through to do what bulldogs do to smaller dogs. Their humans had tried to repair several breaches in the old tired fence where the bulldogs had escaped in the recent past but with questionable results.

    Late one summer afternoon the child bride was tending to some of her flowers in the back yard and I had returned from a short walk with the Llasa on a leash and joined her. Now, I’m in my own yard with my dog on a leash. Well, this was raw meat on a stick to one of the bulldogs to the rear that charged the fence loudly barking and snarling. The crappy neighbor’s fence gave way and before I could retreat, the bulldog had the Llasa by the neck and me at the other end of the leash. While the child bride bolted for the woodshed to find an appropriate club, I began to shout and rap the bulldog with the cloth LEASH. The bulldog was not impressed and not deterred. Fortunately the woman human of the bulldog observed this activity from her back porch and tried to save our poor Llasa by screaming at me “STOP HITTING MY DOG!” If I had not been distracted at the moment by the imminent death of my fluffy little Llasa, I might have had an inappropriate physical response to my lovely neighbor. Her husband, smaller and older than me, was by now running toward us and cleared the fence into our yard. I wasn’t sure his intent but his brain functioned at a higher level than that of the crazy woman screaming at me and he dislodged he jaws of his murderous beast and, without a word, turned and carried the snarling thing back over the fence.

    Now, released from my futile efforts to save a dying dog, I was able to reply to the lady with quite explicit and very foul and rude words. Several hundred of our dollars later the first of three sides of six foot fencing went up on the border. The other two property lines eventually were fenced also and now our little pups can roam the entire yard with safety. and I don’t have to use rude language in my own yard. Except at the damn squirrels. But that is another story.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      This is awful! So sorry to read about it.
      As far as I know, it is the law to keep your own dog restrained in your own property – so the Bulldog owners are totally at fault and should have made secure fences long before this event.
      Typical what you say of the other woman shouting at you to leave her dog alone! Some people are blind!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. ladysighs

    We all do what we do. We are who we are. We can be trained and taught, but when push comes to shove ….. even the leader of the pack can’t lead us. πŸ™‚ I am sure she was talking to you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Garfield Hug

    Poor you! What an extraordinary day you had! Ooh I love the photo of Madam!! Gorgeous beauty!! Try hot lemon and honey for the throat, we use this home remedy alot. It helps! Put your feet up and relax πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  9. Garfield Hug

    Sounds like you had an exciting time! πŸ™‚ Madam looks so regal….like Lassie. Gorgeous beauty! Trust me when you and your dogs are one, you can literally hear them speak to you!! For that sore throat, I suggest hot honey & lemon drink. In my little red dot, we use this home remedy πŸ™‚ Put your feet up & relax!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      LM has always had this v expressive “speaking” face πŸ™‚ This story is from a few years ago – so my throat is fine really – But thank you for the tip πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Garfield Hug

        Yes he does from photos I have seen. So is it just LM and SL now? No other dogs? Ha ha….it was written as if today but I was puzzled a bit as it had Madam. Yet you hardly mention Madam in daily antics of your boys πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        A bit confusing I know – but I used to write “old” dog stories on a Saturday, and this one had been waiting a while to be told. When Madam and TJ both died (3 weeks apart) then about a year later we got SL. πŸ™‚
        And before Madam and TJ there was Lady and Jack! So 6 in all. And while not all here now, obviously always in my heart πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Garfield Hug

        Aaw…I know what it is like to lose pets we love. That is one primary reason I cannot have a pet (besides the caring) is the loss. I cried so hard when my dobermann Gretchen died. Madam & TJ must hve been very close else they would not depart 3 wks apart.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. scifihammy Post author

        I know people think this – but it was just their time. We had been expecting Madam to die for months, and then TJ up and died first! Same with Jack and Lady! They were all very very old dogs.
        When I am able I then go and find another old rescue dog, not as a replacement, but because they need a home. It takes time for us all to adjust, but the “new” old dog (like SL) then fits in and we have a new pack πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

