The Most Amazing Action Shots of a Seagull Ever!

Seagull with clam 1

Seagull with clam 1

A seagull finds a clam on the beach. After successfully fighting off another seagull for possession, it then has the problem of how to open the shell.

Seagull with clam 2

Seagull with clam 2

It flies effortlessly straight up into the sky; and then drops the clam (Indicated by the arrow) on the beach.

Seagull with clam 3

Seagull with clam 3

Now the clam has been broken open, the seagull quickly flies down to eat its lunch, before another seagull steals it.

Seagull with clam 4

Seagull with clam 4

It was a really bright, sunny day, with that heat-haze in the air. As I mentioned yesterday, all I could see on the view screen of my camera was solid black. I just pointed and clicked away as I watched the seagull performing his tricks. I did not expect to get any pictures! So I was delighted that my trusty Canon had actually captured the whole scene as it played out.

Below are the original photos, so you can see how tiny this all was.

Firstly, Gain possession of the clam.

Gain possession of the clam

Gain possession of the clam

Next, deploy tactics- Bombs Away!

Bombs Away!

Bombs Away!

Finally, dispose of the spoils, by eating the evidence!

Eating the Spoils

Eating the Spoils

I think you’ll agree; these are some pretty amazing shots!

 

47 thoughts on “The Most Amazing Action Shots of a Seagull Ever!

  1. faburlifekhloe

    OMG! You have amazing eyes to see that seagull doing its trick ๐Ÿ˜‰ Loved these action shots and made me get to know more about seagulls ๐Ÿ˜› I really wish the beaches in HK could be this clear (unfortunately they are heavily polluted ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I could sort of see with my eyes that the seagull was doing something – but not thro the camera. Really were lucky shots!
      Pity about your beaches. maybe someone will start a clean up campaign? Even while we were there on our beach, a man was clearing up the seaweed ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. faburlifekhloe

        Wow, it was seriously a lucky shot then! ๐Ÿ˜›

        Our government started the clean up campaign for quite a long time, but the problem was we as citizens don’t pollute much but companies…Government tried to place some regulations to restrict them to a certain extent only because our government needs a complete consent from various business associations and implement the regulations gradually…So, it does take a lot of them to see clean beaches…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Funny you should say that, but I took an old Box Camera on a school trip to Scotland once!
      The good thing about my little Canon camera now – is that you can actually get A picture most times, tho it won’t be Great ๐Ÿ™‚ If I’d had to faff and focus, I’d have missed everything. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. colinandray

        Yup …………memories of taking train shots with a Kodak 44A! I now have Lumix/Panasonic DMC-TZ1 which is from a different planet by way of comparison! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      You’re right ๐Ÿ™‚ When I googled about this behaviour afterwards, it did seem to occur on rocks mostly. But the wet sand was firm enough, plus the height. Anyway, it did the trick! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. ady

    Some nice action packed pics… Wow, love the mid-air scenes , and that too with food in mouth ๐Ÿ˜€ And with blackout shots,your intuition and timing was terrific ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh My! Spare my blushes! hahaha
      Honestly, I hadn’t a clue if I’d got anything at all – till I got back home and looked. 3 photos, 3 captures ๐Ÿ™‚ Very Lucky! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        haha More to come tomorrow! ๐Ÿ™‚
        Also, I know you don’t have time to read all our old posts – but if you do get a moment, and want a bit of a smile, look up Avian Olympics – I wrote it with you in mind! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        Ah – it is Time! as I well know! – plus also my internet is Rubbish and my laptop crashed last night! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Sooo hard to keep up with my WP friends!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. scifihammy Post author

        And power! SA is having power cuts at the mo – very frustrating! We become so used to having electricity and internet! Yet it really is a luxury!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

