Frangipani Skyline

Frangipani skyline

Frangipani skyline

This is what my frangipani looks like in summer. The heady aroma greets you each time you step out of the door. Instead of stopping to smell the roses, you stop to drink in this exotic scent.

 

Frangipani 2

Frangipani 2

I like how new petals unfurling look like some sort of strawberry dessert.

 

post script: The results of yesterday’s Haiku vote in Twins

Haiku 9 got twice as many votes as haiku 10, and one person voted for both of them.

Final tally: Haiku 9 received 6 votes; Haiku 10 received 3 votes.

Thank you very much to all who participated. It was very interesting reading about the reasons for your preferences. Thanks also for the nice comments on the photo. I took some trouble with that, as I likeΒ things to be symmetrical, but when I arranged the vase of flowers this way, in the pattern of sunlight filtering through the windows, the flowers were in shadow and too dark. I had to position them just so to catch the light and cast an interesting shadow themselves.

 

30 thoughts on “Frangipani Skyline

  1. Sarah Ferguson

    I have a note in my phone from my trip to Australia in 2012 about frangipani – the smell was intoxicating, and I have meant to get some soap or perfume or something ever since! This was an excellent reminder of that!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. faburlifekhloe

    I won, yay!!! I had so much fun participating πŸ˜‰

    The unfurling petals looked really pretty and I agree it looked like strawberry dessert of some sort ❀ Maybe I should go get strawberry ice-cream to stop craving lol πŸ˜› Lovely shots Sci! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Yes, but I do wonder about the lei thing – cos when you pick a flower you get this white latex-like goop dripping out of it! Wouldn’t want that around my neck! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      They are used for a Hawaiian Lei – the garland of flowers they place round your neck when you visit Hawaii πŸ™‚ Lovely scent πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

