Sunday Musings #17

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is never to stop questioning.

– Albert Einstein

Well said Albert! And as a fellow scientist myself (though perhaps not quite so well known!) I certainly have to agree with the ‘never stop questioning’.

I was born asking questions. And I have to wonder if that is why I am a scientist; or I am a scientist, therefore I ask questions? Agh, it’s in the genes I guess.

Certainly, both my daughters asked a heck of a lot of questions growing up, which I thought was awesome. You want enquiring minds right? However I have a scientist and a philosopher daughter. The scientist, Pix, you could explain something to and that would be it. The philosopher, DD, never stopped asking questions.

For example:

Me: “You don’t run with scissors.”

Pix/DD: “Why?”

Me: “Because they are sharp, and if you trip and fall you could cut yourself.”

Pix: “OK.”

DD: “Why?”

Me: “Well, scissors are sharp and pointy. If you run with them you could trip and fall on them and cut yourself.”

DD: “Why?”

Me: Several explanations and “Whys” later –Β “Because I said so!”

Yeah, and wasn’t I the one who was always going to explain things to my kids, and not just resort to “Because I said so?” I hadn’t bargained on a philosopher for a daughter!

post script: DD explained to me in later years, that her “Whys” were – Why would I run? Why would I fall? Why would I cut myself? An infinite regression of Whys!

 

18 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #17

    1. scifihammy Post author

      With the best will in the world – a Mum only has So much patience!! And yep – “Because I said so” is gonna be the final answer sometimes!
      I’m Scifi – hammy. Scifi is short for science fiction. I studied science, and like to read science fiction. Oh and I like hamsters too – so that is how I got my name – which I already had for my email. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. ladysighs

    The word “WHY” causes more complaints in my household than any other. I just want a half way reasonable explanation of why you are doing something. 😦 I want that explanation so then I can tear it all apart because it is so stupid. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

