Gecko

Gecko 1

Gogic the Gecko 1

This little chap, about an inch long, has been running round the bedroom lately. I managed to photograph him high up on the wall. (Yes, the wall really is stippled like that and takes your knuckles off if you tuck a sheet in carelessly.)

Long ago when the kids were young, we had a resident gecko who walked along the edge of the Constable print every night. We called him George.

My daughter DD drew a picture of him and tried to write his name. As she was only 4 or 5 years old, she wrote George as Gogic.

Forever after, we call all geckos Gogic – of course!

Here’s another photo of the latest little Gogic.

Gogic the Gecko 2

Gogic the Gecko 2

He was watching me very carefully, and as soon as I stopped snapping pictures of him, he scarpered.

I found him later on my pillow!

 

46 thoughts on “Gecko

  1. Sarah Ferguson

    Things I am happy the cold weather keeps away: lizards and geckos! (Though we did have a salamander at my parents’ house, so I guess we have some.) That said, they are kind of fun to see on vacation, even if I would rather not find any on my pillow!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Ady

    I get shivers on seeing lizards !!!! 😦 Like any other reptiles, I prefer to go out of room rather than have the courage to drive them away. In my parents’ home, these fat big lizards mess up too much with their droppings and clinging to ceiling !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Ady

        Actually twice they have fallen over me, and the way they scamper…… And I also fear at that moment any slight wrong moment and something bad may happen to them and me ! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Garfield Hug

        We call them plain old lizards. In fact your wall finishing is great to deter lizards as their sucky paws find it hard to be useful in such steepled wall surfaces. And no, you are not slipping up as we have many names for it here besides lizard, gecko…we also call it “chee chak” – a local slang! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        Oh, ok πŸ™‚ Interesting to learn different names πŸ™‚
        The gecko has those fat little toes, which a lizard doesn’t – as far as I know! But generally, yep they’re all lizards πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

