Power to the People

Give me the Moonlight

Give me the Moonlight

–  or not!

– If you’re in SA at the moment!

Power cuts continue, under the name of ‘load shedding’. Why are we having them you ask? Good question. Power stations need maintenance and repairs and demand for electricity far outstrips supply.

The power cuts usually last 2 hours 20 minutes and are on a rolling schedule, so we take turns to have no power at inconvenient times. Our area has had power cuts during the dark of evening three times in the past week. You cannot boil a kettle or cook a meal as we have electric stoves. (Very very few people have gas cylinders to cook with.)

Even though it is becoming exceedingly tiresome, we still look on the bright said, albeit via candle light!

Chatting to someone the other day, they told me how the family enjoyed a candlelit dinner during the last evening’s power cut, and how they all talked to each other, instead of watching TV. (I listened to Thumper and said something nice instead of what I was thinking; which was that as a family I made sure we always ate our evening meal at the dining table and talked to each other!)

During the last power cut, I simply listened to Chopin’s first piano concerto, without having to do chores as well.

While sitting out on the stoep as dusk fell, we saw a few bats flit swiftly around the garden. I haven’t seen bats for ages.

Standing in the garden at night while my dogs LM and SL visit the bathroom before bedtime, I could clearly see a myriad of stars, since town and street lights from around the area were all off. There’s Orion’s belt and the Southern Cross and its pointers. (That’s about the limit of my star knowledge!!)

So it’s not all bad.

But if you can’t change something, then change how you feel about it, or laugh about it!

Here’s a fun SA advert that sort of sums up SA’s and how the rest of the world sees us. At least we can laugh at ourselves, if nothing else!

Load Shedding

40 thoughts on “Power to the People

  1. Rachel M

    It seems a strange time of year to have power cuts due to excessive demand. I would have expected it more in mid-summer or mid-winter. Does it happen all year round?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It’s not really excessive demand, you’re quite right – rather demand all year round exceeds supply, until they complete maintenance and repair on the power station and get another up and running. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Ady

    Power cut, in other months we don’t mind but now we are readying ourselves for the inevitable power-cuts in summer which lasts from one hours to 6 hours and in some areas even 12 hours or more ! All this when we have 40C at night as well 😦 😦 There was a time, as kid when we used to enjoy sleeping under stars, now it has become risky 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        Ah, so it is similar to here then, but we are worse in winter. We don’t reach anywhere near your high temps in summer. I would always rather be cold than hot – as you can wear more clothes or a blanket if cold. If too hot, you really suffer. Poor you!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ady

        Hot and humid is the worst combination, I use desert cooler and it fails against humidity and high temperature i.e 40+ … Yup, in cold somehow it can be managed but summer unless one can manage to stay inside bathtub for whole day, I don’t see other alternative 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ady

        Yup, but I somehow feel AC will harm my body as well alongwith the atmosphere, so I manage somehow ….. I have seen people who are too much acquainted with AC, they can’t bear sun and even a little heat ! It’s just like it is ice cold water is actually harmful for body !

        Liked by 1 person

  3. faburlifekhloe

    “But if you can’t change something, then change how you feel about it, or laugh about it!” – I couldn’t agree more with you Sci. Once you are able to change how you feel about it, you are likely to enjoy the present and feel happy 😉 You are such a positive person who always uplifts our spirits. Thank you so much dear! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Although I also agree candlelight dinners and conversation are awesome, I do feel like this shouldn’t be happening in 2015.
    Us wasteful – using Americans would not tolerate this arrangement. We would be up in their grill about power outages and demand justice! Garfield above must be in the U.S. 😉
    I do agree, you may not be able to change the situation, but you can change your attitude. If anything, I would sleep in and tell work I’m late because of this crap. No alarm clock! Ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Garfield is in Singapore, but same sentiment as you in US. Unfortunately we have only One electricity supplier, and therein lies the problem. Plus many other factors of course.
      Work here in SA – if you arrive late cos you slept in you would be expected to stay late and make up the hours, plus work thro your lunch time – as per usual! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      That is a fun version of the Bach 🙂 Sort of mesmerising watching it play, and you get to understand the music a little more too. Thanks for the link 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Aditix

    Sounds somewhat medieval. I hope you at least get a warning, so it doesn`t come out of the blue. How do you listen to music without power? Batteries? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      We have a printed schedule, so you can plan around it. I listened to music I had on my laptop, which lasts several hours on battery. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. dizzylizzie72

    Power being turned off is no fun. But, like you said, if you cannot do anything about the situation, change your attitude. We often lose power here in Arkansas due to thunder storms and tornado activity, sometimes for 5 days at a time, but that only happens once a year at most. Guess we are spoiled with all our modern conveniences. So nice to hear someone else believes in sitting down at a meal, daily, and being a family. I truly believe in that.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, family meals are important I think 🙂
      But i don’t know how you cope with 5 days of no power. Doesn’t all the food go off in the fridge?

      Like

      Reply
  7. Sarah Ferguson

    You know about as many constellations as me – I can spot Orion and the Big Dipper and that’s about it. I can usually tell you which are the planets, but I have never been able to find the Southern Cross when I am in the southern hemisphere, despite having had it pointed out to me at least a dozen times!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      There is a false cross, and the real one, which has two stars called the pointers, so that’s how you spot it. Depends on the time of year also, as it may not rise till too late to see in the night sky.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Sarah Ferguson

        I am guessing if I had grown up with it, I might be able to find it easier. I think that with all the other constellations and stars I am not used to seeing, I just can’t figure it out at all.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        I’m from the UK, N hemisphere, but quite honestly, with all the cloudy skies you get there, the only thing I could really identify was the moon! hehe 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. pensitivity101

    Ah, the Power Cut. We were warned that it was not unusual for us to lose power in our village, so we invested in a small generator. It was never used! It’s with us on the boat in case we lose mains power, but so far so good.
    In the 70s, the UK was plagued by power cuts, but that was due to industrial action, not maintenance repairs.
    However, Hubby and I don’t worry if the power goes out. In the cottage we had a log burner and cooked a stew in the pressure cooker on top of it, not to mention boiling kettles or frying anything (not all at the same time of course, it wasn’t that big!!)
    Entertainment was either a battery radio, me playing the piano whilst Hubby was target shooting, board games or cards. Conversation has always been apparent in our house, even more so when we ditched the TV. The look of horror on people’s faces when we said we didn’t have one, and their total amazement that we talked to each other instead!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  9. Garfield Hug

    I am surprised at this day and age you still have this. Errm in our country if this happens (unplanned or planned) power suppliers get a huge couple of million dollars fine. Plus an inquiry.
    To share, last tuesday we had 2 hrs interruption of wifi supply by our major telco. To placate us subscribers they are compensating us with all day free wifi on Labor day. Meanwhile pending inquiry a possible fine?
    I guess in big countries such rwquirements are needed to upscale and disruptions inevitable.
    Still it is nice to have good old fashioned proper dinner conversations given no choice and admiring the beautiful night fall.
    I learn a new thing about SA each time. Thanks Sci.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      There you have it in a nutshell – you said power supplierS! We have only one – so no competition.
      There are many, many other aspects to all this, which would fill a book. As I aim to keep my blog short and on the fun side, I won’t elaborate further.
      I was trying to show that most of us just get on with it and adapt. 🙂
      Thanks so much for reading and commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

