Puppy!

Puppy 1

Puppy 1

Look who’s sleeping on my carpet!Β Puppy!

No; this cute little puppy Spunk isn’t mine! She belongs to my friend H. But I was lucky enough to baby sit the other day. She’s a dominant little thing, and waltzed in here as if she owned the place. Not shy at all, though only 6 weeks old.

Puppy 2

Puppy 2

Very interesting smells in this house! Spunk sniffs my dogs’ scents.

But where were my dogs LM and SL? Firmly shut outside with the curtains drawn! No, they wouldn’t attack her, but there was no way I was going to take any chances, with such a tiny pup in their own home. Let her grow up a bit first – and she will! Spunk is a Deerhound/Greyhound cross, so even though she doesn’t look it just yet, she will be very very tall; probably as big as LM by 4 or 5 months.

Actually, LM briefly met Spunk earlier in the day at dog class. We were in the field and there was no problem when I introduced the puppy to LM, who is quite motherly to little ones. They will soon be best friends.

Puppy 3

Puppy 3

In the meantime, I could play Granny, and look after the little thing while she mostly slept, before handing her back to her own Mum, to keep awake all night!

 

58 thoughts on “Puppy!

  1. Pingback: Puppy Too | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Too cute! I love large breed puppies. They are so funny after they grow up. They don’t realize their size. Not great for stuff on the coffee table, but fun to watch. Oreo had been playing with a retriever puppy and hasn’t seen her for a month. When she came back over, she was bigger than him. He was like ‘whaaaa?’ And she didn’t realize she’d gotten so big either.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, dogs and cats can get sunburnt here, particularly the white ones.
      You’re right about LM – it has to be a very specific dog and energy to fit in with the anxious old girl. Even this tiny puppy is way too dominant fro LM.
      But hey – Puppy! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. Sarah Ferguson

    Puppy!

    You really do have the best job – play with the puppy then give it back! I sometimes think it would be fun to have a puppy again. And then I realize how much work they are and that desire quickly fades!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. colinandray

    Sound like the “other person’s baby” syndrome! That is where you can enjoy some time with the “little one” but are able to hand them back later. You get the pleasure without the responsibilities! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Puppy is not here at this exact moment! But I get to puppy-sit again on Monday. Yay πŸ™‚
      And yes, I had to just cuddle puppy, and she fell asleep in my arms πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        Will do – if she behaves! πŸ™‚
        it is the closest I’ll get to having a puppy – cos I always adopt the “second hand” dogs – like SL when he was 12.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. scifihammy Post author

        haha Yes of course tons of puppies are up for adoption; I should have been more specific. I leave the puppies for everyone else, knowing they will be adopted, and take the older dogs that no-one wants. πŸ™‚ We suit each other.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      My dogs had no idea the puppy was there, until she went out in the front garden to pee. (They could see thro the fence) πŸ™‚ But they sure knew after she’d gone, and went round sniffing everything! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. spanishwoods

        Well puppy teeth can be like little needles, so I’m not as fond of that. When my kids were very little and we had a new puppy I had to lather them with butter so the puppy wouldn’t bite them. From there, giving the puppy praise for “kissing” the kids made her understand not to bite. It was an interesting exercise.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ady

    Awwww…. She looks so cute sleeping πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Spunk is very seriously sniffing out things πŸ˜› I adore puppies very much πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

