Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red Hot Chilli Peppers

Red Hot Chili Peppers

There’s a music group called the ‘Red Hot Chili Peppers‘; which these plants aren’t. But I liked how the angle of the sunlight set these plants on fire.

The sun is high up on the right, causing theΒ deep blue of the sky to be drained of colour as you look across the photo from left to right, and making the mountain appear to be in a haze.

This may have been the last day of summer, a few days ago, here in Cape Town. A cold front has just passed through and suddenly it is winter. Yes, it is chilly!

 

post script: A note about yesterday’s post. Sorry, but I forget that not all my readers grew up with the kind of music I did. There is a song called “Rose Garden” which has the line: ‘I beg your pardon, I never promised you a rose garden.’

That was my joke. A photo of a lavender garden, because I never promised you a rose garden!Β 

To all those who did get the reference – High Five!

 

39 thoughts on “Red Hot Chili Peppers

  1. Ady

    Very interesting plant, the flowers look so august and judging by their size it’s difficult to imagine them standing upright, boy they do have an air πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ You have an amazing world Sci πŸ™‚
    I was puzzled a bit about Rose garden, now I get it πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha You weren’t the only one! Most people just politely said they preferred lavender to roses anyway, and ignored the fact that I would be “there all week!” πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Mike Fuller Author

    Music references are always welcome. The mental gymnastics triggered by them is wholly energizing. Good music is transgenerational (spell check does not like that word, oh well) and some of us are old enough to have personal appreciation for several decades of music.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. dizzylizzie72

    Love this photo. We call these orange/red flowers torch lilies in the U.S. the humming birds love them. They do look like chili peppers. I remember Rose Garden. I beg your pardon I never promised you a rose garden, good song from long ago. I am familiar with songs from my parents era, so who knows ones age from their taste in music. Nice post.;

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚
      Yes, I agree, people can have a wide range of musical interests, but I’m not sure people in India or China will know these older songs – before youtube!

      Like

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        Hmm I am curious? My one daughter is now living in Germany, and I’m pretty sure she watches youtube. I think it is banned in China?? I don’t know, but I am sure the young whizz kids can find a way around it. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. dizzylizzie72

        Interesting. I could see Germany doing that and this girl told my daughter this story. Perhaps only part of Germany does this. Not really important I guess. I can see China banning a lot of things.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Garfield Hug

    Rose Garden is still played over the radio over here and much used in our vocab! πŸ˜‰

    Your photos of the flora of SA never fail to please. Gorgeous sight to behold indeed! TGIF!! πŸ˜€ Thanks for the share πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. spanishwoods

    I almost replied, “Along with the sunshine, there has to be a little rain sometime.” but I thought many people would do that. Apparently no one. Because only I would be dorky enough to reply the lyrics…..but since you DIDN’T get any lyric replies…….Just letting you know, I totally got it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha High Five then! – and Thank you!! πŸ™‚ Nice to know I am not just amusing myself here! πŸ™‚
      A few did get it, but no-one replied with the lyrics! I have a few followers in India and China etc, and I forget that while they will all know eg Taylor Swift via youtube etc, they probably don’t know these older songs.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

