My First Anniversary

LM and SL

LM and SL

At last! The Exciting Event is Here. My First Anniversary!

Yes, I know! It’s hard to believe I have been blogging now for a whole year! Time Flies when you’re having fun.

What? Did you think it was something else? What could be more exciting than this?

I’d like to thank the WP community for being so great. And I’d like to thank everyone who has popped by my blog and liked or commented on a post. I thoroughly enjoy seeing all of your amazing photos and reading your posts. I feel like I know some of my “regulars” as friends, even though we have never met, nor are likely to, being separated in most instances by vast oceans.

I thought for extra fun, in this special One Year Anniversary Post, that I’d tell you a bit about how this got started.

Basically I mentioned to my daughter one day, that I’d thought of starting a blog on the mad adventures of my dog.

Now I meant someday; you know; whenever! Next thing I knew my blog was up and running! I’d thought of a few blog site titles, but when we tried them, they were already taken. Pushed to find something like now, I came up with mad cap dog. And there we have stayed. The scifihammy was always a given.

Next, I needed to post something to check out how it all worked. So I quickly penned an amusing (I thought) incident involving Little Monkey, hit publish, and voila! I was out there.

No-one noticed. Insert ominous silence with crickets chirping in the background!

Here, for your continued entertainment, is the link to my very first efforts, posted on 24 May 2014. Tree Climbing. Who’s going to be the First to like this? (wink.)

I started my blog mainly as a writing experience, since I love to write. At the time, I was in the middle of writing the third book in a series of novelettes, which together make up a sizeable book. (No, you’ll never read them.) So it was quite difficult to keep the blog going in the early days.

My blog soon branched out to include photos; of flowers and skies, mountains and seas, as well as dogs. Eventually that sort of became the main event, and the writing became maybe once a week, at the weekend. Time to start the fourth novelette I think!

It is difficult to post some days, with such bad internet and power cuts. On those days it is impossible for me to load someone else’s blog and to comment. The ‘some days’ has lately become ‘most days’. So this is why you may not be hearing from me as much as in the past.

I have lots of fun blogging, so I’ll carry on posting, (apart from a few weeks break coming up next month). After all, Little Monkey and Mr Spaghetti Legs give me lots to write about.

And Thank You to all of you out there who make the whole blogging experience a pleasant one. WP is a community, and if it wasn’t for feedback, likes and comments, what would be the point? I’d still be sitting here listening to the crickets chirp!

 

43 thoughts on “My First Anniversary

  1. Bad touch Bear

    Novellete?
    What kind of stories?
    That reminds me I have books from Brooklyn that need to be returned to that library!…Maybe I should re-read one of them and take a time-out.

    Congrats on surviving a year!
    LM looks so old with that silver around her mouth.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Believe it or not the ever-active LM is 10 years old!! I write scifi – hence scifihammy 🙂
      Books can be life savers, either writing them or reading them, it is a whole new world 🙂 Enjoy yours.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Ady

    Congratulations !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 year of fun-filled, action packed adventures and mad cap dog is gummiest blog I am stuck to 😀 I have loved your perspectives, thoughts, pics and the adventures of LM,SL, sparky and many more 😀 Here’s to many more anniversaries 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Joseph Nebus

    Happy anniversary!

    My first posts were marked by a lot of anxiety about whether anyone, ever, would notice anything. Also that I didn’t know how to start tagging so as to draw in people who might become interested in something. I still don’t know how to tag so as to do that, but at least I’m trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂 I had no idea how anything worked and was v surprised when someone liked a post! I had no tags at all! I found if I tagged ‘humour’ as ‘humor’ also, then more people found it! I think gradually we draw to us those with similar interests. I’m not out to get massive numbers (just as well 😉 ) and I’m not on fb (which I think adds a lot).
      Just as long as we have fun blogging and Someone reads from time to time, that is enough 🙂 Thank you for being one of the readers! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
      1. Joseph Nebus

        Oh, now, humor versus humour as a way to draw in readers … I have thought sometimes about learning enough of the WordPress API so as to make a little tool. The tool would compare how often variations on a possible tag were used, so you could decide whether to use what’s most likely to be read, or a rarer tag where you’re likely to stand out in people’s searches, or what.

        I’ll never do it, of course, but it feels like a good idea to have had done.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        It is interesting. But I think like-minded people somehow gravitate and if you’re not out for massive numbers it doesn’t really matter in the long run. I have had some very funny search terms lead to my blog – which I am sure they were not looking for! 🙂

        Like

  4. Garfield Hug

    Happy First Anniversary & congrats!! I have enjoyed your blog very much seeing the antics of LM and SL, squirrels and lovely lovely photos! It seems like you are such an expert blogger ha ha!! Cheers to more good years of happy blogging! *pops a champagne bottle clinks glasses to give Mad Cap Dog a toast!! Or in our language….”yum seng!!” 🙂 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. pensitivity101

    Happy Anniversary! It’s great isn’t it, making friends, reading about different lifestyles, sharing thoughts, dreams, experiences, photos. Glad to be one of your followers, and glad too that you are one of mine. Happy days!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Yeah! One year old 😃
    I’m so glad we ran across each others blogs and became friends. I really enjoy reading your stories of the fur kids and the beautiful sites of your area. Thank you for sharing! I know many of us just write to write, however it is nice to read and learn about other folks and the things around them. It’s also nice to have folks want to read your stuff. . Who am I kidding? ! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Right back at ya, Plant Girl 🙂 Nice for me to find someone with a great sense of humour and to learn about life in the MidWest (which I had to google initially!) And thanks for saving me from the lonely chirp of the cricket! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much Quiall 🙂 I hope to remain part of the WP community for some time to come and I hope you do too 🙂 I enjoy your daily quips, and occasional longer stories (like today.) I loved the little Hippo (sorry, forgotten his name) exploring round your house 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

