In England’s Green and Pleasant Land

England

England

Dry stone walls, open fields, meadowsweet, distant hedges and even a horse grazing at pasture.

England 2

England 2

Even on a misty  day, the green fields, hedgerows and stone buildings show their Englishness.

England 3

England 3

This is my England: the North, where I grew up and spent the first 21 years of my life, on one side of the Pennines or the other.

England 4

England 4

View taken at random through the car window as my sister drove us down country lanes.

In England’s green and pleasant land.

These scenes soothe my soul. I have come home.

 

30 thoughts on “In England’s Green and Pleasant Land

  1. faburlifekhloe

    Look at green field like this soothes my soul as well. There is always something about green field relaxes us 😉 I’m sure you feel so good going back to where you grew up (a lot of great memories) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It is weird how some scenery can affect you. My one daughter felt the same as me when in England, even though she grew up in CT. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Genie

    Fabulous.

    I love the poem too, hadn’t read it before:

    “And did those feet in ancient time
    Walk upon England’s mountains green:
    And was the holy Lamb of God,
    On England’s pleasant pastures seen!

    And did the Countenance Divine,
    Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
    And was Jerusalem builded here,
    Among these dark Satanic Mills?

    Bring me my Bow of burning gold;
    Bring me my Arrows of desire:
    Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold!
    Bring me my Chariot of fire!

    I will not cease from Mental Fight,
    Nor shall my Sword sleep in my hand:
    Till we have built Jerusalem,
    In England’s green & pleasant Land”

    This is truly an epic poem, for many reasons, one of them being that, Jerusalem is a spiritual state.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Garfield Hug

    Gorgeous expanse of green meadows, untouched and tranquil! I can almost hear the breeze 🙂 Thanks for sharing and for me, there is always a strange sense of peace looking at green open spaces and the wide expanse of sea waters. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. pensitivity101

    It’s lovely isn’t it. Dorset has some beautiful countryside too though. In Lincolnshire, there are some wide open spaces, but that’s just what they are…… wide and open, no hills and little relief in the landscape. Now the view from the top of the Malverns……. well! It was worth the puff and oxygen to get to the top!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. colinandray

    So many wonderful memories of cycling around when in my mid/late teens. My best ride was from Peterborough, up via Halifax and into the Lake district, then East over to the A1 and back. The whole ride was an education in millions of ways. Thx for the pics which could all have been views from my bike!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I hope you do – and not just stop in London (which isn’t really England) – but travel to the country. Up North is great!! Of course I may be a little biased! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

