Ruffled Feathers!

Mossie 1

Mossie 1

This little bird flew straight into my window the other day.

He sat on the ledge for a moment, obviously a bit stunned, then flitted up onto the fence to recover.

Mossie 2

Mossie 2 – Ruffled!

He fluffed up his feathers in a shrug, looking like a dancer swishing her skirts.

Mossie 3

Mossie 3 – That’s better

Then he looked around for a second, wondering what had just happened, before flying off again.

The male Cape Sparrow, or Mossie as he is locally known, is a splendid little fellow, much more brightly attired than his European counterpart. Though, perhaps not surprisingly in the bird world, the female is a plain drab brown!

 

post script: Once again, these photos were taken from way back inside my lounge, which explains the hazy look. I really must wash that window!!

 

23 thoughts on “Ruffled Feathers!

  1. Pingback: Mossie | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Pingback: Like Father; Like Son | Mad Cap Dog

      1. Garfield Hug

        I am amazed that SA has loads of interesting birds. Each read off your blog is an education for me in botany, flora, fauna and avians 🙂 Much thanks to a good “teacher” who shares! 💕💕

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Garfield Hug

        Please continue to share 🙂 I eagerly await your posts and no matter how late at my end, I must read before bed time. 🙂 Good night…it is past midnight and I have to be up at crack of dawn 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  3. dizzylizzie72

    I too take photos from the comfort of my house. Now and then I do wash a window, especially if the sun is shining on it and shows me all the mess. Cute little bird. I have had birds hit a window, fall to the ground, sit there dazed and finally recover and take off.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Ady

    I am back !!! And I see a fat bird 😀 😀 It looks sooo big for a sparrow !!! But very very cute 😀 pic 2 is my fav , the skirts do swish 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Welcome back! I have missed you! 🙂
      I hope you have had a wonderful time and your Uncle’s wedding was spectacular. Can’t wait for your posts and photos. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

