Baby Face!

Baby Face Calf 1

Baby Face Calf 1

You got the cutest little Baby Face!

I must admit to having mixed feelings about this little chap.

Baby Face Calf 2

Baby Face Calf 2

Yes, of course he is cute! And he and his friends are in nice clean stalls with fresh hay, a bucket of fresh water and a bucket of cattle feed.

But I can’t help thinking that they should all still be with their mothers, drinking milk and out in the fields, there on this farm in Yorkshire that I visited last June.

Baby Face Calf 3

Baby Face Calf 3

And my next thought is: what life will they have?

If they are male, most likely they will be fattened up a bit then slaughtered for veal, or later on, beef. If they are female, they will probably be used to breed from and then kept as dairy cows.

 

post script: The song Baby Face was first published in 1926; music by Harry Akst, lyrics by Benny Davis. I picked this version with Dean Martin singing because my Mum liked Dean. He had a great voice. But I must admit that, as a kid, I always thought he was drunk onstage. Watching this clip now does not dispel that theory!

 

30 thoughts on “Baby Face!

  1. Pingback: Down on the Farm | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Ady

    I love calves and have sweet memories of them. The ones in your pic look so sweet and yet in the last pic, their yearning look says it all. 😦 I didn’t have much idea about how beef industry and dairy worked side by side, now I am getting the idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. ramblingratz

    Animals in agriculture is a thorny issue. The UK has high welfare standards, but at the end of the day, these animals are a product, sometimes merely a by-product. I am vegetarian, but yet to wean myself off cheese unfortunately.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Well this is it. I couldn’t fault the conditions the calves were kept in, just that they were there in the first place.
      I drink milk and eat cheese too.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Nicole Dacanay

    This really does make me sad. I agree with what you’ve said in other comments. It’s about awareness and cutting down our global intake of meat, especially when it’s unethically treated. I think this would save animals and people. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, we really do need to change something. I think gradually people are heading away from so much meat-eating. It isn’t sustainable.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Garfield Hug

    I feel guilty too as I drink milk, sometimes have a stick of beef satay and now each time I do that, this baby face will be stuck in my mind. Sigh….looks like I have to stop my twice yearly pilgrimage to the satay stall *satay is a skewer of meat on a bamboo stick, marinated with spices and grilled over charcoal fire to give it that BBQ taste

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. dizzylizzie72

    As I watch the calves with their mothers in the field next door, it is sad to see these babies in stalls. It is just not natural. I remember the song Baby Face. I also like Dean Martin’s singing.
    I will tell you this, When Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis were together in movies and on stage – Jerry was the drinker and not Dean. Dean had apple juice in his glass and he acted as if he were intoxicated, because he felt that was what people wanted to see in the clubs of Las Vegas. I did not find out that Dean was not a drinker until after he had died. He put on a good act.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Rachel M

    Sad. In some ways I feel more sad about this than about eating meat. The worst thing you can do to a mother is taking its baby away from it, which is what we do to cows. It didn’t use to be this way though.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      That’s what I think too. Tho this was a ‘good’ farm, in that the animals were obviously well cared for, it still just did not seem right.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

