A Gaggle of Geese

Gaggle of Geese 1

Gaggle of Geese 1

A gaggle of Canada geese at David Attenborough’s Nature Reserve, Nottingham.

Gaggle of Geese 2

Gaggle of Geese 2

There is a large lake you can walk around, many different water fowl to admire, an information and gift centre, and a tea shop.

Gaggle of Geese 3

Gaggle of Geese 3

It was starting to rain when I visited here last June, with my daughter Pix and her husband, so we didn’t walk around. But the cream tea was delicious!

 

post script: Collective nouns can be really strange. I particularly likeΒ 

a crash of hippopotami

a charm of humming birds

an exultation of larks andΒ 

a lounge of lizards

Try here for more fun Collective Nouns of Animals.

 

29 thoughts on “A Gaggle of Geese

  1. faburlifekhloe

    Wow so many geese!!! πŸ™‚ Did they walk around like a model and let you capture them? πŸ˜› haha cream tea? You sure how to relax!!! πŸ˜‰ Those collective nouns can be a bit strange like you said, but they sound beautiful to me πŸ˜‰ I really like “a charm of humming birds”! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Sarah Ferguson

    This has nothing to do with geese, but it was an incident that immediately brought you to mind, hence its random posting here.

    I am visiting my sister in Minnesota, and went to the store to get us supper. I stopped to get some wine on the way home, and was super excited when I saw they had an entire South Africa section. I was going to get a bottle and then comment about how awesome it was in this exact space.

    Unfortunately, I think whoever put the sign up is very geographically confused about the southern hemisphere, as the section consisted entirely of wine from New Zealand. So I am having a Vinho Verde instead (apparently, being in the northern hemisphere, the Portuguese wines were correctly labeled).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha No-one knows where SA is! When we had the football world cup here, there was an advert of 2 Americans at a baseball game, talking about the cup. One says, “Where’s SA?” The other answers, “I think it’s somewhere in Mexico.” And they both nod wisely πŸ˜€
      As to SA wines, I know we export many marvellous vintages, but where they end up I have no idea! In the UK I found a bottle that read – From the vineyards of the Western Cape. I’m like Which vineyard?? And it tasted like vinegar! (To be fair, most white wines in UK, Australian or whatever, tasted awful.)
      I did manage to buy a Nederburg Lyric for my daughter in Berlin, so the wines are out there – somewhere!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Sarah Ferguson

        Ha! We are a bit oblivious to the rest of the world!

        And I will just have to save my wine post for another time. It does give me more chances to visit wine shops, so it is somewhat of a blessing in disguise.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚
      Me too! I watch every nature program by David that I can, and have bought tons of his dvds, to re-watch at leisure πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. Laura

    Geese are such wonderful birds. I have always liked them because they are so big. I have read that they are using dogs to keep the geese from settling down on golf courses.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha I heard that today too. We get Egyptian geese around our neighbourhood here in Cape Town. I like them, even if they are noisy! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. ulli

    These canada geese have settled in German towns. They do not leave and stopped to be migratory birds. They enjoy to be city slicker πŸ™‚
    Best wishes,
    Ulli

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Garfield Hug

    Love your collective nouns! A crash of hippotami….this is new to me. πŸ™‚
    By the way cheese and onion sandwich was simply divine. I ate it very brown and toasty and everything melted nicely πŸ˜€ thanks for the idea πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I didn’t know the Crash one either – or in fact most of those in the link.
      So glad to hear your cheese and onion sarnie was yummy πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  6. dizzylizzie72

    Like your photos. It looks like a very nice place to visit. Geese certainly do make a mess. There is a little lake in Arkansas that people built their nice homes around. The Geese are so destructive they found a man who owned a dog. This dog spends all day, everyday, chasing
    Geese and he keeps the Geese out of their yards and the Geese have left. They pay this man to let his dog run around this small lake every day and chase Geese. The dog goes home at night with his owner.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. pensitivity101

    When we walked along the River Witham in Lincolnshire, we would hear and then see hundreds of Canada Geese in flight to the breeding grounds. have never seen so many in one flock, let alone so many flocks of so many!
    I understand that you can have a charm of goldfinches, and a school class mate described a group of horses as an enchantment. I heard on the radio that the collective noun for swans is a Lamentation. There sure are some lovely descriptives out there!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Must have been quite something to see so many geese all at once πŸ™‚
      And yes, there are sometimes a few different collective nouns for one animal, which makes it even more fun πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

