Camouflage

Camouflage 1

Camouflage 1

Watch the Dickie Bird!

What Dickie Bird?

Oh, That one!

Camouflage 2

Camouflage 2

I knew this little Wag Tail was down the in the fast-flowing stream, as I could see it flitting about. But it was really hard to capture when looking through my camera and when I checked my photos later I thought at first that I’d missed it.

Camouflage 3

Camouflage 3

British birds seem to like living life on the edge, in rapidly flowing water (see Ducklings), but they appear to thrive on it. I spotted this energetic bird at Newmillerdam, Yorkshire, during my UK trip last June.

Camouflage 4

Camouflage 4

Now, I don’t know much about British birds, except that this was obviously a Wag Tail. However, careful research (oh, all right: Google!) reveals that this cute little bird is a Grey Wag Tail; and a female one at that, as she is, quote “like the male but duller”!

Also, in typical Mum fashion, she has her face stuffed with insects to take back to her hungry chicks.

 

12 thoughts on “Camouflage

  1. faburlifekhloe

    Very interesting! I can’t’ tell what it is at first when I look at the first two pictures. The color of the bird is very similar to those tree sticks lol 😀 It’s a magical feeling when I come know there is a bird in the photo when I look at the last two photos. Good one Sci! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much 🙂
      Actually I just have a little point and click camera, but I like to kid myself there is some skill in Where I point, and When I click! hehe 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I see you were using the same ‘bird capture’ technique as me. .. point camera in general direction of bird, hold shutter, take 100 shots and hope for the best! 😉
    You got some good ones here! She sure does have a mouth full, lucky kids.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

