Macarons!

Macaron 1

Macaron 1

You think they are called Macaroons not Macarons? Let me tell you the distinction:-

Macaron  –  egg whites and ground almonds, as these are.

Macaroon – egg whites and coconut, as in Jane Austen’s day.

For further info try Macarons versus Macaroons.

Having got that distinction out of the way, people still call them Macaroons in England, and here in Cape Town, but now I am not going to be inundated with comments on how wrong I am!

So I baked these the other day. Yummy! For the quick and easy recipe I followed, try Easy Macaron Recipe.

You start by whisking the egg whites then adding castor sugar a little at a time till it forms stiff peaks. I don’t have an electric whisk, so did this by hand. (Plus side, burn calories to make space to eat the end result!) At this point, you are supposed to be able to turn the bowl upside down and the whisked eggs stay put.

Obviously I wasn’t going to try this over my own head, so called on the services of a willing helper – my dog Little Monkey.

Macarons 2 - and LM

Macarons 2 – and LM

If you wonder why the photo is blurred; the moment LM saw the food she was eager to clean the bowl for me and leapt in the air towards the upturned bowl! I managed to click and move the bowl out of the way just in time!

Don’t worry; I don’t tease my dogs, and she got a little treat in lieu of the contents of the bowl.

I then added the ground almonds and icing sugar and placed dollops on a tray.

Macarons 3

Macarons 3

After baking, the un-coloured ones looked like this –

Macrons 4

Macrons 4

They are supposed to be nicely risen, smooth and with little feet (whatever that means!)

So what went wrong with mine?

Meh, you know I really don’t care, because I LOVE sugar!

But if you really want to know, then here –

  • The recipe said to sieve the ground almonds and discard any lumps. Well, I duly sieved my ground almonds. I looked in the bowl and I looked in the sieve. Less than half the ground almonds had gone through the sieve, even with judicious squashing with my knuckles and then the back of a spoon! I looked at the 50g of ground almonds refusing to budge and thought, “What the Heck! You are way too expensive to discard!” So I tipped the sieve over and added the unsieved ground almonds too!!
  • I don’t have any piping bags and thought about making one out if a Ziploc bag, but since my mixture was basically solid (see above – unsieved ground almonds!) I easily spooned the mixture onto the tray.
  • I don’t have a silicon sheet, or baking paper, so stuck my macarons onto aluminium foil.
  • It said to either use a silicon template, or trace circles of the correct size onto your baking sheet (See above – not got!). I really don’t care. Once baked I matched up similar sized macarons to each other. As far as I am concerned, they don’t all have to be identical. Where is their individuality?
  • I forgot to add the colour! So since I’d already done one tray, I just added a bit of blue food colouring (the only colour I had) to the remaining mixture. This made it very runny, so my blue macrons were twice the size of my ecru ones!
  • It said to leave them for 20 to 60 minutes (depending which recipe you read), so they could get that shine on the top. I read afterwards, that you were supposed to leave them at room temperature. But I had stuck my trays in the fridge, because my dog Little Monkey has been eating food off the kitchen counter lately the moment my back is turned and I didn’t want these going the way of my muffins!
  • They were so sweet, which is saying something for me (a sugar-addict) that I did not bother to sandwich them together with filling – aka more sugar!

So there you have it.

My Macarons were (Yep, past tense; all eaten!) crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside and delicious. Just goes to show – you do not need fancy equipment or gadgets.

 

 

46 thoughts on “Macarons!

  1. Pingback: Mother Of All Macarons Or Macaroons In Brighton, UK | Garfieldhug's Blog

  2. faburlifekhloe

    I’m always confused about Macarons versus Macaroons. I really don’t know which one is correct. I’m glad you cleared all my confusion Sci. 😉 The Macarons you made look really delicious and I wonder whether you dogs wanted to try some as well 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        Aw Thank you for reading twice 😀
        I really wonder about WP these days!
        And I gave my dogs dog treats rather than Macarons, because nuts are poisonous to dogs.
        Tho the bowl of egg whites would have gone down a treat I am sure!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. faburlifekhloe

        You’re welcome Sci 🙂 . Yea, don’t know what WP is doing these days. 😦 Yes, it’s better to give them something else that is better for their health. Good mother you are! 😉 haha next time you know why a bowl of egg whites is gone in a second lol 😛

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      To be honest I only heard of Macaron recently, as they are called Macaroons here! 🙂 But they were quite easy to make and even with my rough and ready method, turned out OK. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Jay

    I was lucky enough to take a macaron course in Paris this winter. I love making them now but would not have attempted before. Even when you do eveything right, humidity can mess you up, or the age of your whites. So worth it though!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Garfield Hug

    Aha!! And I thought the way it was spelt was British English versus American English. Glad you cleared that up! Yum!! You do have heaps of talent 🙂
    Which reminds me of a post….”mother of all Macarons” – I used to call them Macaroons. Silly me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      They call them Macaroons here, which is how I first heard of them. They taste as good, however you say/spell it 😀
      I was just pre-empting a stream of comments correcting me! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Well I planned to share with my friend, but unfortunately she is allergic to them, so, apart from a few for my husband, I had to eat them all! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. dizzylizzie72

    Well Macarons or Macaroons, they all sound yummy. After you eat a dozen of these there should be a note at the bottom of the recipe that states: “To finish macaron recipe – over comsumption – requires 10 trips around the block.” Ha Enjoy

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

