Brandenburg Gate

Brandenburg Gate 1

Brandenburg Gate 1

This is the start of the Berlin leg of my European trip last June. The first day my daughter DD, her husband and I did touristy things around Berlin, on a sunny Sunday. We took trains everywhere, which were really efficient, clean and relatively cheap.

As we approached the stop for this tourist attraction, the train driver announced Brandenburger Tor. Only I didn’t catch it at first, because, obviously, he spoke German. What he said was more like ‘Brandnboour Toour’.

Brandenburg Gate 2

Brandenburg Gate 2

I’m sure all great tourist sights, such as this amazing gate, have been documented to death, so you can read all about it here: Brandenburg Gate. However, this is my shot. I was there. And it really is wonderful. You have to stop and marvel.

They were setting up for some sort of outdoor concert, so we couldn’t walk through the middle. But, we saw it well enough and walked through the side, craning our necks to look up at the magnificent green horses as we passed beneath them.

 

31 thoughts on “Brandenburg Gate

  1. Aquileana

    Remarkable… Absolutely perfect…. and, by way… it seems we are in the same wavelenght somehow… even when I posted on certain Winged Horses… Wink.
    Sending love. Aquileana πŸ’«πŸ’«πŸ’«

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Maybe I have been living in SA too long, because when I looked at the photo I thought, ‘What a pity it’s cloudy and not clear blue skies’! πŸ˜€

      Like

      Reply
  2. ulli

    Hi Scifi, on Saturday we celebrated “25 Jahre deutsche Einheit” (25 years german unit).
    The Brandenburger Tor is a famous and wonderful place in Berlin. Great shots!
    Best wishes,
    Ulli

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. faburlifekhloe

    Beautiful clicks Sci! ❀ Glad you include a close-up shot of the green horses so that we can see it better! I can feel how amazing it is to be there through your photos. I also feel like it is a place worth visiting no matter how touristy it is πŸ™‚ . I'm patiently waiting to see more from your Berlin trip πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Hmm – that is so weird! All I get here, in my notifications, of your comment is “Beautiful clicks” but I see in my email you wrote a whole lot more!
      So thjank you and yes, lots more Berlin photos on the way πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. faburlifekhloe

        hahaha WP always does weird things and I can totally understand that πŸ˜› Similar situations happened to me before…You’re welcome Sci πŸ˜‰ Yes, patiently waiting for more πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

