The May Pole

The Maypole 1

The Maypole 1

OK, so it isn’t May, and this isn’t a pole!

But when I saw my neighbour’s festive tree, adorned with an abundance of nature’s blooms, I had to sneak a photo – or two.

The Maypole 2

The Maypole 2

I love how the flowers grow all the way up the trunk.

Anyway, it reminded me of a May Pole.

When I was about eight years old, I actually danced round the May Pole at school. It was quite a complicated procedure of skipping one way, and then the other; missing out one other girl, or two.

This produced a lovely woven pattern of coloured ribbons plaiting up the May Pole.

Of course we were pretty rubbish to start with and had to stop repeatedly to unwind the tangle we’d somehow managed to get ourselves into – again!

Still, it was great fun, and better than sitting in a stuffy classroom.

It was only years later that I learned the history behind dancing round the May Pole. I was surprised, to say the least!

 

35 thoughts on “The May Pole

  1. pensitivity101

    Beautiful blooms cascading down like a floral waterfall.
    As for maypoles, well, I can’t help but think of the one that wasn’t in Weymouth and my in-laws (candy floss also comes to mind as that was mentioned in the same post).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Garfield Hug

    A new fact….interesting as this is the first I have heard of a May Pole. I loved the flowers on your neighbors tree. Just wondering what flowers they were. Is it bougainvillea? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. faburlifekhloe

    What a great lesson! 😉 Now I know what May Pole is. Thanks a lot Sci! ❤ The tree looks very pretty with all the blooming white flowers together. It also looks very different from the trees I usually see. Love it! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Bridgette's Digits

        Honestly… I’m trying 2 remember now. I’ve heard that before from my grandmother I think. Uncovered memories… thank u. ~Bridgette

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Bridgette's Digits

        I’m still smiling from ear to ear… just thinking about The May Pole and my grandmother! Such happy… happy thoughts. ~Bridgette

        Liked by 1 person

  4. dizzylizzie72

    I have danced around a May pole a couple of times when I was in school. Like your photos, the vine growing up the tree makes it look very pretty. Thanks for the information on May Pole dancing, quite interesting. I never knew why it was done.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

