In the Lap of Luxury

Palace 1

Palace 1

Anyone for tea?

I toured inside Charlottenburg Palace in Berlin, last June with my daughter DD. The palace was built at the end of the 17th century for Sophia Charlotte, wife of Friedrich III, Elector of Brandenburg.

For the very reasonable sum of a few Euro I bought a paper wrist band that allowed me to take photos inside. The only drawback was that no flash was allowed. This explains the blurred quality of the photos.

Still I think you will get an idea of how beautiful and sumptuous this “summer cottage” really is.

Palace 2

Palace 2

Your entrance ticket includes a set of headphones, to tell you something about each room as you enter, in your own language. I thought this was a marvellous idea. I hate conducted tours, where they always spend ages at some relic that I have no interest in, and breeze past those I’d like to study. This way, everyone could go at their own pace, and it was surprisingly quiet.

Palace 3

Palace 3

This cup thing was actually massive! There were several around upstairs, probably about 50 cm tall, with intricately painted designs.

Though the double-storey palace was huge, with very long floors, many of the rooms themselves were small and interconnected. You reached the main bedroom through a series of other rooms; there being no hallway or passage.

There were many many treasures inside Charlottenburg Palace, but my little point and click camera just could not do them justice, without a flash.

I leave you with a portrait of Sophia Charlotte of Hanover –

Palace 4

Palace 4

– And suggest that if you are ever in Berlin, you should go and see this lovely palace for yourself.

 

24 thoughts on “In the Lap of Luxury

  1. faburlifekhloe

    This place is truly beautiful even without flash and you did a great job capturing the details of this place πŸ˜‰ I also love how the ticket includes a set of headphone and I have never experienced that before. I will definitely try it if I have a chance visiting Berlin. πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot for sharing Sci! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you kindly πŸ™‚
      I am glad I am not the only one that the headphones are new to. Sometimes I feel a bit out of it over here in SA!!

      Thank you so much for the visit. I can’t wait to be back properly! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. dizzylizzie72

    A very grand place. The headphones so you could go at your own pace is a concept I had never hear of, that is nice. Glad you got to take pictures also. That first picture looks like luxury at its best.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. pensitivity101

    Great shots. The handsets of data in various language is indeed an excellent idea and used in many places like this or historical sites such as Stonehenge.When we visited York Minster, we had to get a licence to take photos inside and I got a beauty of the Heart of York in the stained glass window.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        I only had a short amount of time to sight-see, but made the most of it and really enjoyed my trip. Sadly, there are only a few posts left of my adventures. Time to go on another trip! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

