Nikon-ography #2

Little Monkey 1

Little Monkey 1

Watch the Birdie!

“What Birdie? Where?” asks Little Monkey!

And sadly, yes, this is my lawn at the moment! First bugs ate it, then we’re having an extremely hot, dry summer, with water restrictions.

Little Monkey 2

Little Monkey 2

I love her pink tongue!

So far I am playing around with the Nikon camera settings just on Auto. Even so, there are many more ‘Autos’ than on my old Canon, and Little Monkey is blurred here.

Mr Spaghetti Legs 1

Mr Spaghetti Legs 1

Mr Spaghetti Legs is a much easier subject to photograph, as he sleeps most of the day, only becoming active for walks and food. Little Monkey, on the other hand, is rarely still!

After our walk, SL tends just to stand still and pant, while LM trots all over the place!

Mr Spaghetti Legs 2

Mr Spaghetti Legs 2

I was going to include a section here and call it “Also Ran”, but quite frankly, I think this photo “Never crossed the starting line”!

Little Monkey 3

Little Monkey 3

Obviously, I have to work on the focus. I have no idea what my settings were here, though I suspect they were still on ‘close up’ as I had just been shooting a flower. Something else to work on.

I’ll have to experiment and maybe try the sports setting for LM!

 

44 thoughts on “Nikon-ography #2

  1. faburlifekhloe

    These are very beautiful photos and just have fun with your new camera Sci! ❀ πŸ™‚ The more you use, the more you will get a hang of it. πŸ˜‰ They both are perfect models for you to practice. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ I am having fun, but only doing the Nikon post once a week. The rest of the time I use my old Canon – it is much smaller to carry around πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Ady

    Congratulations Sci on new camera πŸ˜€ Patience is the key and more than that, be ready for nice surprises because for beginners, some of the best shots come before we realize πŸ˜€ Manual is good but if you have some particular idea/vision, googling may help πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Hello Ady! πŸ™‚
      And Thank you for your support πŸ™‚ I’m just going slowly and getting used to the basics, which is why I decided to do this series of posts – keep me motivated! I will google later on thanks πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        I aspire to Moon pictures!! I think it will be quite a while before I succeed. I don’t have a zoom lens, so am still learning what I can capture πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        There’s not much zoom on the lens I have, but I will play around with it. πŸ™‚
        And it is hard to post blurry photos – I am a bit of a perfectionist – but I figure, this is my learning curve! Thanks for following my journey of discovery πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  3. ramblingratz

    I think you will need a fast shutter speed for LM! It still captures their beautiful characters though. Have fun working through your new camera. And I’m sure the lawn will bounce back πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Yes – I have a few plans for capturing LM dashing round!
      But my lawn is in trouble – needs more water than it’s getting. Grass does not grow naturally here, like in UK. You have to molly coddle it! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. paws2smile

    Great pics so far! πŸ™‚ And the only way you will get to know the settings is if you play with them. πŸ™‚ Hmm is there maybe a YouTube video you can search for that can teach you some tricks?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much and for your advice πŸ™‚
      It is very early days yet – I am just starting to read through the manual, but yes, youtube clips is a good idea for later πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. dizzylizzie72

    I know you are going to conquer that new camera, I have confidence in you. Enjoyed the photos of your dogs. Your grass, looks like our Arkansas grass in July, when we get 108 degree temperatures and no rain for weeks.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚ Snapping LM is going to be a challenge, but I’ll keep trying!
      And I am sad to see my grass – it needs lots of water, so yeah, I can imagine what yours looks like at 42C!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you so much for your encouragement. πŸ™‚
      I am having fun! And rather than become overwhelmed by the number of dials and settings on the Nikon, I am reading a bit of the manual and trying out a few photos. This is a long process. Rome wasn’t built in a day!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    2. scifihammy Post author

      Oh, and SL has these massive spots on only One side of his body – the other side is pure white! πŸ™‚
      He says thank you for noticing his lovely spots! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Leave a Reply

