Ice Crystals

Ice Crystals 1

Ice Crystals 1

It has been one of the hottest summers I remember, here in Cape Town. Temperatures have stayed in the mid to high 30s (Centigrade), with rarely a breeze.

As we baked yet again under a clearΒ blue sky, I glanced up and noticed, finally, these few wispy clouds.

Ice Crystals 2

Ice Crystals 2

Forming, disappearing and reforming a good 6 kilometres above me, I wished I could fly through these ice crystals and find some relief from the enervating heat.

And if you look closely you’ll also see the Moon.

 

post script: These wispy ice-crystal clouds are Cirrus.

 

55 thoughts on “Ice Crystals

  1. faransilverton

    I recently saw a photo of similar (cirrus) clouds referred to as ‘mare’s tails’ which I thought was a great name. Being a horse person I am fairly biased though πŸ™‚ Hope you get a break in the weather soon. It’s pretty warm here too although wild and stormy weather across most of Eastern Australia this week/weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. blosslyn

    I’m not sure I could deal with that amount of heat, I know I can’t, I had trouble in Washington last year……so I think I will stick with our wonderful gales, lovely cold rain and just think that I am jealous of your lovely hot weather :)…. a little would be nice though πŸ™‚ Great sky photos.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. ulli

    Wonderful Shots, Scifi. Love the moon in that blue sky.
    The climate is really crazy. With 18 degrees C wie had a record in January.
    Last summer I “survived” with tea with lemmon and ice. Perhaps it can help you too.
    Have a nice weekend.
    Best wishes,
    Ulli

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you Ulli πŸ™‚
      Yes, sadly we humans have made the weather so crazy. I moan now about the heat and drought, and come winter I will moan about the rain and damp!
      Have a nice weekend πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. faburlifekhloe

    Maybe you should pour a glass of ice cold champagne instead of flying through these ice crystals to get some relief from the heat lol πŸ˜› BTW, I really love those clouds and these are gorgeous pictures Sci! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. dizzylizzie72

    Sorry I cannot send you some of our cooler weather. Summer is often overwhelming, Get in the bathtub with ice cubes floating around, then you’ll think you are at the North Pole. lol Sorry, just my humor busting out again.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. Ady

    If I had snow , I would have gladly sent you some πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Although I miss hot climate a bit, for once I want to be outside not as an onion with so many clothes 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

