The Bougainvillea Strikes Back

Escape 1

Escape 1

The weather finally turned and I could attempt to trim some of the escaping bougainvillea without risking vaporisation from extreme sun exposure.

I was doing pretty well, teetering atop the step ladder with my long-handled secateurs, managing to avoid most of the vicious two inch thorns.

Eventually, the bougainvillea had had enough of my meddling and struck back: impaling me on both hands, parts of my clothing and my face!

I extricated myself – c a r e f u l l y – mopped up the blood and thought nothing more of it.

Till the other day, when I noticed that my jaw was a little sore. I scratched the nick and dug out the tip of a thorn that was still wedged in there. Ouch!

Madam Bougainvillea has the last laugh!

 

29 thoughts on “The Bougainvillea Strikes Back

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Nature is pretty good at protecting itself. πŸ™‚
      Part of my problem was trying not to fall off the ladder, the other was figuring out which way to extricate myself, since moving one way to get free, stuck me in more thorns!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Yup Madame B did get the last word and it was OUCH! πŸ˜‰ The sap can be irritating, but not deadly. However, it surely feels worse when you get something stuck in you, then it swells, then you’ve got to dig it out! Oooouuuuch!
    Hope you deswell soon 😨

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Thank you. Still sore, but going away! πŸ™‚
      I don’t know what it is about bv thorns, compared to say roses, but they do hurt more and take longer to heal. My daughter actually got blood poisoning after stepping on a bv thorn once, so we watch out!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Garfield Hug

    Ouch!! That must hurt! Bougainvilleas have thorns and boy do I know it too! You, tethering on a ladder….I visualised it and ugh!! Pray be careful Sci! How are you “2 kids”…the 4 paws by the way😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha I must admit, I am a bit Gung-Ho when it comes to gardening! So far so good! πŸ˜€
      My four-pawed kids are well, thank you. Some photos next week. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

