Squirrels in the Sun-Roof

Sparky 2

Sparky 2

 

When my kids were young they read a whole set of marvellous animal books, in theย Lucy Daniels’ Animal Ark series.

I enjoyed reading these too. (Young at heart; what can I say!)

The stories were titled: Hamster in the Hamper, Puppies in the Pantry etc

So that explains my title; Squirrels in the Sun-Roof. (Why Sun-Roof you ask? Well it had to begin with ‘S’, and the sun does beat down relentlessly on the roof all summer!)

But unfortunately, the actual story is not as enchanting!

I love seeing squirrels in the garden, and have done a series of posts on them pottering round my lawn.

However, now they are in my roof!

Not so much fun!

They wake me up in the wee hours, clog dancing on the wafer-thin ceiling; dropping their apparently extremely heavy food and generally making enough noise to wake the dead. Certainly, it carries through my earplugs, which claim to keep out 35 decibels!

I am beginning to understand Mike the Author when he would comment (rant) on my squirrel posts, and Tom’s Nature Blog has given me some advice on how to discourage them with strobe lights.

As these lights are jolly hard to find, (and expensive), my husband has fixed up a couple of desk lamps, set on timers. He also went out and hacked off a few convenient (to the squirrel) branches on the syringa and loquat trees.

Last night, I did not hear the squirrels at all.

Of course, I may have been too darn tired to wake; even from the dead!

 

39 thoughts on “Squirrels in the Sun-Roof

  1. Pingback: Intruder Alert! | Mad Cap Dog

  2. Pingback: Squirrel Antics | Mad Cap Dog

  3. Key Image Photographers

    Oh no! Naughty squirrels. My friend had a similar problem. Her son loved seeing the squirrels in the garden and would put out food for them. They moved into her roof too. I think she called someone out to “remove them” ๐Ÿ˜• much to her sons upset as he had been telling everyone he had pet squirrels lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Pet squirrels ๐Ÿ™‚
      My squirrels receive no encouragement at all – and my dogs chase them any chance they get!
      I think it’s time to call in the experts!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Key Image Photographers

        Ha ha ha so glad someone else’s dog is as nuts as mine! I think she gets so excited and carried away with the chase she forgets herself! Her muscles are twitching like mad by the time she comes back to me ๐Ÿ˜„

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      It sure sounds like they do! ๐Ÿ™‚
      And yes, I’ve heard about the sonic thing too, but I bought stuff to deter moles, and it never worked, so I’m a bit sceptical.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

    I hope it continues to work! Christmas tree lights that blink periodically may be another option. EBay sells a lot of strobe lights; plus you can buy stuff made for the yard (that involves motion detection) and (instead) put it in your attic. You may want to cover all of the electrical cords going to the lights with wadded up aluminum foil. That will discourage squirrels and mice from chewing through the electrical cords (which could potentially start a fire). (People with new puppies should also cover the electrical cords in their home with aluminum foil.) Mice, chewing on electrical wiring, was the cause of a business (of my friends in Canada) building burning down.

    Years ago, my parents bought a home on Long Lake in Michigan. My father tore the house down and rebuilt it, but before he did, it was full of chew marks all over the house from squirrels. The people who lived in the house let squirrels come in and live with them!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thanks Tom – Good advice ๐Ÿ™‚
      If the lights don’t work, we’ll get someone in to catch and release the squirrels.
      Funny what you say about all the chewed wires. My daughter use to have a house rabbit that we let hop around the place. Only later, when we were spring cleaning, did we find so many chewed wires, behind the TV etc! Little thing!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Mike Fuller Author

    Well, now you know, the hard way. Cute and Fluffy scamper about and entertain BUT remember what goes in must come out. What they leave behind is not just chewed holes in your siding but stinky, bacteria and disease laden poop and pee. A gift in your attic that keeps on giving. Be sure that if you trap them that you deposit them at least three miles away. The little buggers have built in GPS and they shall return. Hav-A-Heart traps (here in the US) work great when baited with peanuts in the shell (or the SA equivalent). You will be surprised at the numbers. What looks like two or three turns out to be twenty. You have to be as relentless as the enemy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, Mike, you were so right!
      I’m hoping they get lost without us having to resort to trapping them, but if we do, we’ll be sure to set them loose a good 5km away.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. colinandray

    I have heard of people who, once they have identified how the squirrels are getting in, just play loud music for a while before sealing up the “entrances”. Apparently it works.

    ps. May be nice to caution the neighbors if you crank acid rock! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Sounds like an excuse to have a party! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Unfortunately, being such a warm climate, the roof is pretty open and I’m sure they can get in all over.
      I’m hoping the lights are deterring them. Fingers crossed! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  7. Midwestern Plant Girl

    OMG that sucks! I love the little guys, but would not want them “in my space”. Do know you’re very special to me to use humane methods to evict them? ๐Ÿ˜š
    We get mice in the winter. We do catch them and let them out in a woodpile where there is seed and “house material”. There has to be a line drawn for health reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      This is the first time they’ve actually set up house in the roof!
      I think we’re winning tho – else we’ll have to pay someone to catch and release them a good 5 km away. Apparently that is the only way to ensure they do not return.
      And yeah – I couldn’t kill the guys and I’m still happy to see them – in my Garden!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. dizzylizzie72

    Squirrels can do much damage to your house. My nephew got them in his attic. He was on his property shooting at the squirrels in his yard until the police stopped by and told him he could not discharge a gun in town. They had chewed holes in the side of his house and finally he got someone to come and get rid of the pests legally. Such a mess. Good luck on getting them to find another home.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I think we are winning – time will tell! ๐Ÿ™‚
      SL isn’t going to hear them (quite deaf) and LM is more a visual dog. She’ll chase them if she sees them. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. pensitivity101

    We had tap dancing mice in the roof at the cottage, and so stripped away their highway of ivy growing up the outside wall. It was also recommended we use ‘sonar’ type mice, which plug into the mains socket and emit a deterrent sound on a low frequency. We had one in each of our three false ceilings and one in the conservatory, and in the seven years we lived there, never had a mouse in the house after fitting them. They might work on squirrels if your lights don’t work all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ The sonar thing was suggested for squirrels too, but as it didn’t work for moles in my garden, I opted for the lights.
      Squirrels are just so noisy – compared to rats, which we’ve also had in the past.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

