Nikon-ography #9

Dianthus 1

Dianthus 1

Up close and personal.

These newly potted Dianthus plants caught my eye, as they themselves caught the fading evening sunlight.

Dianthus 2

Dianthus 2

Since I am still learning how to use my Nikon camera, I practise whenever I get the chance.

Dianthus 3

Dianthus 3

However, part of my problem with the Nikon, as opposed to my old point and click Canon, is that I do more of the focusing.

Dianthus 4

Dianthus 4

Since I don’t see too well, this usually results in quite a few blurred shots in the process.Β (Having said that, I actually like the above photo. I think the slight loss of focus emphasises the brightness of the sunlight.)

And as this is all digital, it costs me nothing but my time!

 

40 thoughts on “Nikon-ography #9

      1. donutsplace

        My vision was bad in fourth grade. I couldn’t see the board in the room so I always sat in the front.
        I had cataracts or maybe glaucoma. .I forget which…but I had the surgery done to both eyes. Now I have 20-20 vision.
        Before that, the big E on the chart was blurry!
        I can see distance great, wear reading glasses for up close. Thats the only part I dont like. But I do love not having to wear glasses all the time now.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚
      A year ago my daughter bought me a Nikon D3100, with a standard lens.
      I’m trying, but I know the camera can do better – I just have to learn!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. donutsplace

        Im not sure about the number part, but we have a cool pix too. They are great. At the time we bought it, it was around 800 bucks. But im sure the price has come down now…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. dizzylizzie72

    Very nice job. You seem to be doing well with your Nikon. Love Dianthus plants, there are so many beautiful colors. My daughter and I were looking at all the colors at a nursery that was selling plants the other day.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚ I’m still a beginner and know the camera has so much more to offer – but baby steps!
      You’re right, there are so many lovely colours out there; I also have purple and some white and red. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Glad to entertain and educate πŸ˜€
      Tho I have featured this flower before, in other colours. Once I tried to trick you all it was tiny sea creatures πŸ™‚ (Close up of the inside.)
      Funny but this is quite a common flower here, and I love it because of its bright colours and that it is a survivor in my drought-ridden garden!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. donutsplace

        Where are you at?
        I usually try to simulate the growing conditions it likes. With orchids, they love the humid bathroom and shady, not much sun.
        I also have a neem tree from india and a lemon tree from florida. And im in arkansas. I just take them in when it starts getting close to 55 degrees or less.a lot of plants get upset if it drops below 55- 60.
        I wish I had a few cavindish banana trees.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. donutsplace

        The tiny sea creatures reminded me of what I thinknof about orchids. Some will have what looks lime a cute bunny for the center. They are so cute.
        I miss my orchids. I bought several from Hawaii when I was on ebay. I also like the cute little dendrobium…yeah I spelled it wrong and my spellchecker is a dummy too. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Midwestern Plant Girl

    These are beautiful!
    I love dianthus. My birthday month flower (January).
    I’ve been thinking about a “1st” camera for myself. I don’t see well either and trust my phone will phocus for me! Ha. It’s not always cooperative… Thank goodness for digital! I would have blown a bunch of $ on film.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I like Dianthus because they are quite hardy and grow well in our climate – and have pretty colours πŸ™‚
      The camera phones these days are of an amazing quality. I have a v old phone, which is why the camera was a great gift. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    2. donutsplace

      What is the flower for May?
      On cameras, I lime the regular cheap sanyos that you can buy at Wal-Mart. They take really good pictures. I’ve been asking for one for over two years. 😦
      My daughter has one too. We also have the nikon cool pix. They are good too but cost a lot more!
      I just use my phone. I wish it had a zoom on it…

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Leave a Reply

