Nikon-ography #10

Moon 1

Moon 1

The Sky At Night: Reaching for the Moon!

Apparently, there is enough light reflected from the Moon to make it possible to take a photograph of it at night.

These shots were taken on the Shutter-Priority Auto setting, which allows me to adjust the speed of the shutter, while the Nikon automatically adjusts the aperture to the optimal exposure.

Moon 2

Moon 2

Obviously, I have much to learn still, as you can see from these pictures, but I am very pleased to captureΒ any resolution on the face of the Moon.

Moon 3

Moon 3

This is what it looked like through my camera lens.

Moon 4

Moon 4

Here you can also see a little of the tree tops, at the bottom of the photo.

To improve on these, I will have to use a tripod and play around some more with the settings. I could still try to use the RAW image quality, which would yield a 6 MB photo as opposed to the 4 MB I currently get on the normal setting.

Moon 5

Moon 5

I could also invest in a zoom lens! Yes, there is a Moon in the photo above.

Moon 6

Moon 6

See?

 

This is the final in my Nikon-ography series. I have had a great deal of fun learning more about my camera and feel confident now, that I can just pick it up and take a reasonable photo.

My objective with this series was to familiarise myself with my new camera, with the ultimate goal of capturing a night time Moon shot, and of Little Monkey in action.

I will aspire to these.

 

36 thoughts on “Nikon-ography #10

  1. ramblingratz

    Yes it is great to get something that isn’t just a glowing white ball. The trouble is the moon is too bright. It thwarts me every time I try to photograph it. I believe a telescopic zoom lens would be helpful. The more you use your camera the more you will learn πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. HN

    I find I cannot get a decent photo when it is totally dark. I need more practice or a better camera πŸ˜‰ I like the early evening moon, especially when it is not quite full so I can see the shadow and curvature

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. dizzylizzie72

    I find the best times to photograph the moon are just before dawn and right after sunset. It is hard to capture the moon after dark because its glow is so much more bright. Love that old moon in the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, I was trying just at sunset, but the sun goes down so rapidly here, I wasn’t quick enough. I will do better πŸ™‚
      Thank you also – I was very happy to discover I Had actually caught the old moon πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. ladysighs

    I think it is wonderful that you are enjoying your camera and sharing your experience. There has to be a beginning to anything new we try. Soon you will be looking past the moon and searching for the stars. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much for your support πŸ™‚
      I know there are far superior photographers out there, but there are also some like me – who haven’t a clue yet! haha πŸ™‚
      Now the stars would definitely be something to reach for! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. ladysighs

        The fun comes in learning how. I bought a camera in 2004 or was it 05 or 03? I haven’t even read the direction booklet yet. Just think of all the fun I have coming …. if I get around to replacing the batteries. lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha I think I fooled you – the actual photo is the tiny little speck you see in the subsequent photos. This Big Moon was enlarged by me in editing. This is why I need a zoom lens, so I can get better clarity in the original photo πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. Bun Karyudo - Humor Blog

        Oh, yes. I see I misread the sentence between picture 5 and picture 6. I may need a zoom lens myself, or at least a better pair of glasses. It’s still amazing how much you managed to increase the moon using the editing, though. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

