Sunday Musings #57

A friend accepts us as we are yet helps us to be what we should.

– Anon

 

Before I started blogging, any friends I was lucky enough to acquire during my journey through life, were all here with me in the real world.

I remember each one, even from when I was five years old and first went to school. They all have a special place in my heart.

Now I count myself even luckier, to have made many new friends in the blogging community.

On those days when I’m just too tired to make the effort to go out; to change out of my scruffy dog/gardening clothes; it is jolly nice to know I can still interact with friends, albeit virtually.

And though it is unlikely I will ever meet any of you in the ‘real world’, your friendship is important to me.Β You accept me as I am and help me be what I could be, with your comments, support and encouragement.

For this I am very grateful. Thank you.

 

44 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #57

  1. Pingback: I’m Two! | Mad Cap Dog

  2. blosslyn

    Its a lovely way to make new friends, as I work such long hours, its hard to go out and make friends. I have friends, but not close by. So its lovely that I can put on my PJ’s and sit and blog to friends that are only a few seconds away, but are all over the world, its truly amazing. Thank you friend for a lovely friendly post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I totally agree. πŸ™‚ It’s a great way to make new friends and experience sights from all over the world. I really enjoy reading your posts and seeing your photos from your travels. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. dizzylizzie72

    I consider you my friend. I often tell people of you – my blogging friend in South Africa. I am sitting here in my pajamas at 7:20 a.m. Arkansas time and I know you don’t mind me looking like I do at all. lol Nice post Friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha Love it! And exactly how I feel. It is great to have friends all over the world. I’m glad I found your blog and can share in your world too, and be friends across the miles. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

    Sometimes the virtual thing brings people together that normally would not ever get a chance to communicate. And sometimes those online are more interesting to communicate with than local folks (bless their hearts). My neighbor across the street, for example, whom i hardly ever talk to anymore, once told me that if he ever should run his dog over with his car, it would be OK, he’d just get another one. Another neighbor’s (a few houses down) dog was hit by a car; he tossed it in the river and didn’t even say anything… other than “Well, I’ll just toss it in the river,” like it was a piece of trash. He referred to the dog as “it.”

    I’m more than appreciative of your sanity, reason, concern, and love of animals (even those pesky squirrels whom you admire despite keeping you awake)! Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you Tom πŸ™‚ I do find I gravitate to like-minded bloggers πŸ™‚
      But your neighbours are something else! My old neighbour actually did run over her dog. She slipped a disc trying to lift her car off the dog. The next door neighbour heard her cries, and went out to help. He took her bleeding dog in his BMW to the vets for her, while she was taken to hospital. Sadly the dog died of its injuries, but not till she had managed to drag herself to the vets to say goodbye.
      I always make sure my dogs are nowhere near my car.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

        Gabbie is little, and we always keep her leashed with us when she is outdoors. I once helped another neighbor with her dead dog after it was hit by a young man. I repeatedly — when it was alive — pleaded with them to keep it more contained… as the dog kept running out onto a nearby busy highway. I was mowing the grass near that highway when the dog was hit. The little truck that hit it actually went airborne for a short while. She was a huge dog. I hugged the crying owner and told her just to remember the joyful times with the dog and not to dwell so much on the tragedy. I didn’t tell her what I was really thinking… that that neglect could have gotten a young man killed (and maybe even myself)!
        I realize how fond you are of your dogs and of nature and the outdoors; very refreshing compared to much of the insanity around here! Not everyone is uncaring around here, but a lot of them are… and it is a shame.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        Aw, that is sad, but it does happen. I’m glad you were there to offer comfort.
        I only let my dogs off the lead when we are well away from any roads.
        My immediate neighbourhood is quite caring about animals, but the country as a whole is not so good. Animal rescue organisations are trying to educate the youth to be more caring, of dogs in particular, but not easy when they live in townships.
        And I think I’d go crazy if I didn’t have access to nature and animals! But I do live in the suburbs. I think you live way more out in nature. πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. Genie

    It’s nice too that our online freinds have things in common, and many times (quite often actually), there is a lot to learn and delight in. Photos, poems, insights and a lot of fun.
    btw, I’m in my pyjamas this Sunday morning too! I like to take it easy on Sunday, day of rest, and all that, I think society should officially have a day of rest, close all the stores, etc.
    It’s important to acknowledge that we all need a break.
    I call Sunday my right to do nothing day — and that includes doing anything I want too, which is usually going into nature with my dog, Dancer, for a large part of the day.

    Like

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      You’re so right! When shops first started being open on a Sunday, we all cheered. Now, I wish there really Was a day of rest. Glad to hear you manage to take time out πŸ™‚
      And I find online friends with similar interests, sense of humour etc, tend to gravitate together πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Genie

        True.
        I was just thinking that with the Internet (and also stores that are open 24/7), there is never a time that shuts down commerce… except ourselves. πŸ™‚
        I’m not of any religious persuasion (spirituality is my interest as far as divinity goes), but every religion does have a “holy day”, and that’s a good thing… if it’s adhered to, and that includes shut down the stores for one day a week! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. story teller

    I count all my friends on the few nights that I feel lonely and realise that the best of my friends are those that I’d made at school, when there weren’t any motives/barter of favours, when you lent your time and heart only when you felt like it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Right back at you Sister! I can’t agree more! Thank you for being a great friend.
    There’s no way to measure friendships, IMO. However, I do feel there are a few blogging friends that I’ve connected with a bit closer than others. I think you are one of them. If blogging has to go to the wayside for either of us, I’d like to think we’d stay in touch via email. 😚 It takes a special person to break through my walls…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw what a lovely comment! πŸ™‚
      Thank you so much. I totally agree; with some people (you) there is just that connection – even if it is via cyberspace.
      And that’s a great idea – to keep in touch if we ever stopped blogging. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. ladysighs

    I think about this every day. I sometimes wonder if something’s wrong with me……I have more online friends than the real kind. lol I hope friends here see me as more than just a rhyme maker and silly song singer.
    I would love to see you in your scruffy dog/gardening clothes. I am never out of my jolly nice jeans and tee shirt.

    Extra LIKES for this post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a Reply

