Autumn in the Western Cape

Camellia 1

Camellia 1

Miss Camellia!

Excuse me? What do you mean, ‘Autumn’?

Yes, I know! We are heading for ‘winter’, yet so many of my plants are blooming merrily away.

It is one of the things I love about living in Cape Town. Here, lots of plants bloom twice a year, so mid-winter is as bright and colourful as mid-summer, but without the enervating heat!

 

Camellia 2

Camellia 2

But just to show it really is autumn, I give you my neighbour’s golden leaved tree! You have to look carefully for these deciduous trees dotted around, as most of our trees are evergreen:

Or like Miss Camellia, have no blooming idea what time of year it is!

 

post script: These photos were taken last week with my Nikon. I am happy to say that I am improving; ie I can usually take a photo in focus now!

 

20 thoughts on “Autumn in the Western Cape

    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Yes, exactly! We are so lucky here – as we don’t Really get winter! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Sorry to hear you had blog problems, I have re-followed you, going to check out your new blog now. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  1. ladysighs

    Autumn in May? Can’t get my mind around that. Giving little twitches here.
    Folks here in WP post plant pics at all seasons of the year and I now appreciate the leafless trees in the dead of winter as much as the full leafy ones.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It is Awesome! I have a week of flower posts coming up – All in Autumn! ๐Ÿ˜€
      And anything that looks like a camellia – your stewardia – will be lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

