Flower Light

Plumbago 1

Plumbago 1

Plumbago

Though we’re heading into cooler weather and the start of winter here in Cape Town, there are still many flowering plants in pots on my stoep and in my garden.

This lovely light blue plumbago adds a little brightness to my day.

Plumbago 2

Plumbago 2

Though I am finding out how difficult it is to take photos in dimmer light! See the difference in this second photo which just looks glum, though it was taken of the same plant, at the same time.

I am so used to bright sunlight, that it is getting very tricky to take decent shots now that the sun is either absent (clouds) or at a low angle.

Added to this, the majority of my plants are strategically placed to be in the shade for most of the day anyway, so that they can survive in mid-summer!

Using a flash just doesn’t have the natural effect I like. Now I am beginning to understand how hard it must be for those of you in less sunny parts of the world, to take those amazing photos. And how skilled you all are!

 

31 thoughts on “Flower Light

  1. blosslyn

    Ha ha I have the other problem of too much sunshine can be as bad as none 🙂 Lovely photo of a very pretty little flower, if they like it warm, they wouldn’t like it here, saying that though, it has been a beautiful day here, although in London they had flash floods and massive thunder storms, my husband phoned me up to tell me, just didn’t want to leave me out 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Yes, UK has much more ‘weather’ than when I lived there as a kid! 🙂
      We don’t get frost in CT, so a lot of plants survive well over winter. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. blosslyn

        I suppose one good thing about frosts, they do kill of the weeds….mmmm hot sunny days or no weeds for a short time….I will have to think about that 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂 I do like the colour, and the plant is special to me. 🙂 (It’s my old dog Jack’s plant.)
      I find most things difficult to photograph well!! But I persevere. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. paws2smile

    Very pretty flowers! 🙂 And with the low lighting, that would be the time I put my editing apps to good use. Lol! Not as good as natural light but it works for me as I just use my cell to take the pics.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, true 🙂 But I have many plants that are in full bloom in mid-winter, as they bloom twice a year. It really doesn’t get that cold here. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Very beautiful!
    I even find it hard to see my phone screen while talking pix. I’ve gotten good at the “point in the general direction and take 50 photos hoping one will be good” mode of photography!
    It works most of the time 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

