What’s in a Name?

LM and SL play it Cool

LM and SL play it Cool

Some of you may have wondered, in idle moments, why Mr Spaghetti Legs has a title and Little Monkey does not.

Actually, when I first started this blog, LM was called The Idiot, so she shouldn’t complain! It took me a while to come up with the name you are all used to; Little Monkey.

As for Mr Spaghetti Legs, my daughter Pix just called him that one day, shortly after we had adopted him.

It fit perfectly. He is white, his legs are wobbly like spaghetti and he’s a guy!Β Furthermore, he actually is a gentleman.

When I put his food bowl down on the kitchen floor, he doesn’t dive straight in. He has a little trick he does, all by himself.Β He pauses for a moment and turns his head a bit to the side. He is asking, “Have you given me this food now? Is it mine, not yours? May I eat it?”

I do a large gesture with my whole arm, pointing down to his food bowl and then I walk away. It’s now his food; and he goes to eat it.

Little Monkey on the other hand, would dive straight in and not come up for air till her whole bowl was sparkly clean, if I did not insist Every Single Meal Time, that she sit: Food bowl on the floor in front of her: LOOK AT ME! Now Fetch!

Old SL uses his politeness trick at other times too. He pauses and waits for me to proceed him down the path, or through a door. He puts up with LM barging straight through him, leaping in the air and landing on him, Β and generally behaving like a hooligan.

He is just courteous and polite and has earned his title of Mister.

Little Monkey? Well I suppose I could give her a title. … Madam!

 

40 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. ulli

    Yes, there was no doubt, that Mr. SL has his special character πŸ™‚
    And LM, she’ s very different, but she always looks so innocent.
    For me she’s a clown, perhaps a chaot, but also very lovable 😊
    You’re a perfect trio πŸ• πŸ•πŸ™†
    Best wishes,
    Ulli

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      She really is, but it’s not entirely her fault, as she wasn’t taught any better in the first 18 months of her life, before I got her. But she has a heart of gold and not a mean bone in her body, which sort of makes up for all the nonsense! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw that makes me feel very special, Thank you πŸ™‚
      I think rescue dogs particularly have ‘quirks’ from their previous lives. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. dobetteralways

    I love how pet’s names evolve the longer we have them. I think it’s sweet Mr. Spaghetti Legs can be a gentledog and courteous about such things most dogs wouldn’t be. Maybe he was a reincarnated nobleman.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Gobetween

    That is what I love about dogs, each one has his/her own personality. My black dog is intelligent but when it comes to exploring he will charge (practically run me over) to sniff out the “enemy” aka bird and cats.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, good friends, but it took a year to match SL to LM after my previous two old dogs died. If you get the energies and personalities right, they will get on. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  4. Garfield Hug

    A Mister Indeed!! You described it so well that I could picture Mr SL by the food bowl looking at you as described!πŸ˜€
    LM…I prefer LM as is – as the antics, character does fit LM!! πŸ˜€Enjoy your Saturday Madam Sci πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

