I Believe I Can Fly!

LM Flying

LM 1 Flying

This is Little Monkey flying!

So how did this come about?

It was a public holiday, which I’d forgotten about, so people were playing tennis on the courts, bowls on the greens and a soccer match here on the fields that are normally deserted. It meant I had to keep LM on the lead for longer than usual, before I let her off, but it would not have made any difference to the outcome.

LM Flying 2

LM 2 Flying

Little Monkey is very well behaved on our walks, walking behind me down the path . . . Β until she hears or sees a squirrel; then all training flies out of her ears, and she has to chase it.

That’s what happened here. I’d let her off the lead; done the whole sit, stay thing and walked a few metres with her happily trotting behind me. Then she heard the faint scratch of tiny claws and Poof! She was gone in an instant: chasing squirrels.

LM Flying 3

LM 3 Squirrel hunting

Here she is looking and listening for more squirrels to chase.

How to chase a squirrel, by Little Monkey.

Run madly straight at it. Yip loudly as it rapidly disappears, straight up a massive tree. Leap after it with all four feet off the ground and push off the trunk. Run round the trunk yapping frustratedly, while the squirrel sits safely 30 feet above you.

This is the surest way to get the squirrel to come back down again!

LM Flying 4

LM 4 Squirrel hunting

And you can see from these action shots, just how young and strong LM is. Yes, she’s only eleven next month!

 

 

post script: And because you’re all singing it anyway, here is R. Kelley:Β ‘I believe I can fly’.

 

32 thoughts on “I Believe I Can Fly!

    1. scifihammy Post author

      On the flat, I think LM would have the advantage, but scurrying vertically up a tree trunk – the Squirrel definitely wins! πŸ™‚ And yes, I saw the squirrel climb right to the top before looking down on the idiot dog! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

