Cape Robin

Cape Robin 1

Cape Robin 1

The distinguished Cape Robin stops by for a photo session.

There was some discussion on my blog a little while ago, about the Olive Thrush looking like a Robin. (see Pantaloons!)

I was wondering how I was ever going to demonstrate the difference between them, as the pushy Thrush has chased the Cape Robin away and it has been a very long time; years in fact; since I last saw a robin in my garden.

Cape Robin 2

Cape Robin 2

The little Cape Robin must have heard my silent wishes, because Lo and Behold, he miraculously appeared on my fence and posed long enough for me to take a few shots from inside the house (through the window, hence the poor quality). How lucky is that?

Cape Robin 3

Cape Robin 3

And for comparison, here is the pushy Olive Thrush.

Olive Thrush 5

Olive Thrush 5

Olive Thrush 1

Olive Thrush 1

Olive Thrush 2

Olive Thrush 2

You can find more photos of an Olive Thrush in the following posts:

The Culprit;  Sky Lark or Nightingale?; Pantaloons and Why I Am Not a World-Renowned Wildlife Photographer.

Now you can clearly see the difference. The Robin is much smarter!

 

After all, though a rose by any other name would smell as sweet, clearly

 a Robin by any other name . . . would look totally different!

 

29 thoughts on “Cape Robin

  1. Jackie Jain

    Wow! How lucky! Beautiful pics. Robin is very colorful. 😉 But I don’t find much difference between Robin and Oliver, just saying. I don’t have much idea.

    Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂
      You’re right, they are similar birds, but the robin has a distinctive white stripe above the eye. My photos are too blurry to see properly. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. blosslyn

    Thank you for the photos, I have never seen one before, I just thought all robins were the same as here in the uk, small with big red chests 🙂 You learn something new every day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      The fun thing about seeing birds in your garden here in SA, after moving from UK, is that you sort of recognise them, eg the sparrow, but they are specific to this particular region, so even the common house sparrow sports stripes! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, I agree. I suppose it is their behaviour and shape etc, not particularly size. I think starlings or thrushes are very common too. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I was about to write the same thing you wrote to Pensitivity, our Robins look more like your Thrush. More solid orange on the belly and no other markings on face, cept white circles on eyes.
    Glad you got a little treat this AM! 😄

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Ah, yes, that’s what I thought about your robin. 🙂
      I began writing this post before my Elderly passed away, and I’m still catching up. So I’ve not seen the robin for a while now, but it was great to see it then – and luckily I had my trusty Canon at the ready! 😀

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, the UK robin red-breast is iconic! 🙂
      I think the American robin is more similar to my Olive Thrush, which is pretty much the same size as our Cape Robin. 🙂 I was just happy to see the robin again. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        UK robins are teeny tiny and soooo cute! 🙂
        Yeah, I had meant to find a google pic of one and put it in my post, but I started writing this before my Elderly went to hospital and then died, and forgot now when I updated my draft.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

