Regeneration

Mint 1

Mint 1

My daughter’s mint plant is quite particular in its requirements.

First, it wants sun, so you put it on the window ledge. Then it gets too much sun, so you move it to the stoep, where it is mostly in the shade. Then you forget about it, till one day you look in the pot and see this –

Mint 2

Mint 2

Aaagghh! You have killed it!

Oh well, you tried, but with the odd weather lately, it obviously got too much sun and not enough rain. Shame.

Mint 3

Mint 3

After ignoring it for a few weeks, you notice something amazing has happened.

Mint 4

Mint 4

The little plant has regenerated itself.

Mint 1

Mint 1

Yay, the Mint is back!

Now to remember to move it into more shade again, as the temperatures hot up for the approaching summer!

 

48 thoughts on “Regeneration

  1. maureenrose7

    I have chocolate mint planted along my deck and it comes up each year with no help from me at all and multiplies like crazy! ive pulled a bunch out thinking ok its gone but nope next year it all comes up like i never touched it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Garfield Hug

    Lol!! The mint plant is sensitive!! My heart lifted when I saw the first photo and sank when I saw the dead roots. I thought for sure a goner!! Sayonara!! But lo and behold it is back in full shape! I am glad. Boy oh boy you got my heart going up and down ha ha…exciting for my early Saturday morn at 1.35am ha ha!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        Yes, cacti are a good start. πŸ™‚ Also succulents do quite well – just remember Not to over-water πŸ™‚ Have fun! πŸ™‚

        Like

      1. blosslyn

        Yes you would, I have just picked some to go in with my home grown new potatoes, its my day off today, so I get to do some fun things ha ha πŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I sort of learned this lesson while living in Florida (b4 I became a Plant Girl). I learned that things do need to die back and regenerate, even tho I was in a place that never got cold. The trees leaves fall just like Illinois.. just not as colorful. It just doesn’t feel “normal” in a tropical atmosphere. πŸ˜ƒ
    Glad you got your mint back… now you can have a Mojito!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

