Mossie

Mossie 1

Mossie 1

The male Cape Sparrow, or Mossie as he is known locally, sports a striking coat of feathers, as he sits on my grape vine.

Mossie 2

Mossie 2

His wife, on the other hand, is a drab little thing.

Mossie 3

Mossie 3

The way that there was one bird, then two, then one again reminded me of the nursery rhyme, Two Little Dickie Birds.

Unfortunately, I only managed to photograph them from behind, while I hid inside the house (in my usual fashion!)

I did get some good shots of a Cape Sparrow previously though:Β Ruffled feathersΒ andΒ Like father like son.

 

21 thoughts on “Mossie

  1. Genie

    Blessing, that’s what birds are. A good friend of mine is a First Nations Shaman and he told me that birds are God’s messengers — they bring blessings and message and also take messages to God on our behalf.
    I like the way he’s hanging out on your grapevine, reminds of the biblical passage: “I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit.”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      This is lovely to know. πŸ™‚ I so enjoy listening to all the birdsong, especially early morning and evenings, and occasionally seeing the little things; they bring such peace. Truly a Blessing, as you say. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Actually I haven’t, as that bird sanctuary is a good 1000km away from me, but the link I originally had was not working this morning, so I quickly found this one. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Garfield Hug

    You have an exciting garden with many interesting visitors! Plus I now know you have grape vines!! Oooh vino or table grapesπŸ‘πŸ˜‰ – loquats etc…a fun garden indeed!😁

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

