Unusual Visitor!

Violet Carpenter Bee 1

Violet Carpenter Bee 1

Look what I found buzzing around in the garden the other day. Well, actually Little Monkey found it first. I chased her inside in case she tried to eat it!

Violet Carpenter Bee 2

Violet Carpenter Bee 2

It was a massive insect and clearly having some trouble, as it flapped around on the ground, occasionally buzzing in my direction and causing me to spring back with my camera!

At first I thought it was a Blue Black Hairy Flower Wasp.

On further investigation I think it isΒ more likely a Carpenter Bee.

Specifically, a Violet Carpenter Bee, Xylocopa violacea.

I thought, “Shame man. Poor bee struggling in this wind,” and I put some sugar water out for it. It went straight to it, but I didn’t see it drink.

Violet Carpenter Bee 3

Violet Carpenter Bee 3

Then I went back inside and read some more about this amazing insect. Apparently they emerge now, at the end of winter or beginning of spring. “Oh, that’s interesting,” I mused. “Maybe it’s just emerged from a dead tree somewhere.”

Violet Carpenter Bee 4

Violet Carpenter Bee 4

I then found out that they bore massive holes in dead wood. “That’s cool,” I think, “I’m sure there’s plenty of dead wood around the neighbourhood.”

Then I thought; “Hey, wait a minute. All my window frames and doors, not to mention all my furniture inside the house, are wood; dead wood! Ooopsie. What have I done?”

I checked outside again, but the Violet Carpenter Bee had buzzed off!

Hopefully to a new destination, far away from my dead wood.

 

post script: On the fascinating subject of insects, did you know that there was a new type of beetle discovered in Cape Town last year?Β 

 

35 thoughts on “Unusual Visitor!

  1. Genie

    Never heard of it before now, it looks like a fly done in macro — due to the black and the wing structure.
    Interesting reading about this bee. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Garfield Hug

    My!!! My first time seeing such a huge bee! Kind of you to lay out sweet water for it. Let’s hope it does not return. No fun if they bore holes or create damage to wood like termites. You have an interesting garden alright!!! So many species of living things.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Holy bananas! That thing is HUUUUUGE! I’d be afraid it would have flown off with LM 😲
    Yes, I love the Eastern Carpenter Bees that are around my area. However, my husband is not a fan as they make their homes in his shed. Oh.. Probably in our cedar shingled house also. πŸ™ Oops.
    Hurrah on the new beetle! It’s nice to read about a new species of anything (even tho the guy looks like a cock roach!) with all the species us humans are wiping out 😣

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha I know! He was enormous! πŸ™‚
      Yes, I was also happy to find out about the new species, even if it is a bug!
      And thanks for commenting – I’m sure this won’t be a popular post, because creepy crawlies, but this one I found kinda cute! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

