Sunday Musings #70

Sometimes I pretend to be normal, but it gets boring, so I go back to being me.

– Anon

 

There’s always a clown in every group of friends, so yes, that would be me. I’m not saying I am hilariously funny, but I do get bored with mundane everyday routines of life and what is considered “normal”. I’ll say or do something daft just to relieve the monotony.

At school once in gym the whole class was lined up, waiting to be weighed and measured to have stats to put in our term reports. We were an all-girls school and it was getting quite noisy with everyone chatting away.

Finally, the teacher had had enough and she shouted, “Quiet!”

I muttered, “Rhubarb, rhubarb.”

Unfortunately, everyone else had gone absolutely silent all at once, so my quiet words were clearly heard.

“Who said that?” the teacher snapped and whirled round.

A friend laughed and said, “Scifi.”

Well the teacher had to berate me, even though you could see she actually thought it was funny too.

So why did I say rhubarb? I’d read that in a crowd scene in a movie the extras were told to say ‘rhubarb’ repeatedly, because apparently when a whole lot of people say that, it does sound like general background conversation.

So, now I’m older, have I outgrown this reaction to boredom and authority?

Nah, can’t say I have. But it’s OK, because Little Monkey is just as daft, so we make a fine pair!

 

30 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #70

    1. scifihammy Post author

      I thought as much. šŸ™‚
      I find humour can diffuse many sticky situations, or relieve boring ones! šŸ™‚ Doesn’t bother me these days if I am the only one laughing at my jokes! šŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Bun Karyudo

    That’s a cute story. I’m glad the teacher wasn’t too angry. Personally, I always wanted to be the class clown, but the red nose didn’t suit me and it was hard to walk in those floppy shoes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

    Good for you, Sci! šŸ™‚
    We’re a lot like that too! Two days ago, i was having cataract surgery, and the nurse in the pre-op room was getting me ready (with all that medical monotony). There was a copy of a painting by Claud Monet on the wall of the room. It was typical of many of his paintings: fuzzy, without detail. I said to the nurse, “Monet must have had cataracts; he painted like he was half blind!”

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha I like Monet, but had never thought of it that way before šŸ™‚
      I hope your eye surgery went well and you can suddenly see Colours again. šŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        Ah – that’s what I meant; brighter colours. šŸ™‚ My Mum and Elderly had cataracts removed and it made such a difference to their sight. šŸ™‚

        Like

  3. Crystal Cotton

    That story is hilarious!! Reminds me of the time my high school art teacher wanted kids to sign up for an advance art class and I replied smartly ‘we barely wanted to take art the first time’ just as everyone was quieting down. Me and my friends had a good laugh about it but my teacher didn’t find it funny. She just said Thank you Crystal sternly. It was hilarious!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Garfield Hug

    Ha ha….this can be the start of your memoirs! A fun read indeed and great to know in school you are known as Scifi too. LM and you are an adorable zany pair….plus you live with critters in an amazing but exciting garden šŸ˜

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. colinandray

    I remember my Latin teacher trying to get us through translating Caesar’s Gallic Wars into English. He would randomly (?) pick individuals to translate a few lines and, as I had problems with Latin (nobody speaks it anyway!), I was randomly picked quite often!
    On one occasion, some poor boy had been sufficiently humiliated when I heard “Any fool can translate the next paragraph… can’t they Chappell!” My response was “Any fool may well be able..but Chappell can’t!” He was not amused! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha I so sympathise! Our Latin teacher used to humiliate us all too. The dread of sitting there, hoping you were not picked; the relief when it was some other poor kid; the panic when it was you. I think the only thing preventing us from having heart attacks was our youth! šŸ™‚
      One time I just didn’t know the word, but knew from the ending ‘orum’ that it was ‘of something’. I blurted out “a pile of rubbish” – which wasn’t correct! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

