Here’s Looking at You, Kid!

Olive Thrush 1

Olive Thrush 1

Most birds I happen to spot in my garden are wary of me. They stop what they’re doing and watch me carefully to see if I am a threat.

The slightest movement on my part and they’re off; instantly taking flight with a flurry of feathers. I find it difficult to snap one single shot of them and time and again find I have captured an empty branch or fence.

Olive Thrush 2

Olive Thrush 2

Then there’s this chap!

My cheeky Olive Thrush.

When I open my curtains in the morning and happen to see him on the lawn, all he does is stop for a second and scrutinise me.

I can take as many photos as I like, since he’s not the least bit bothered about my presence.

In fact, he quite clearly wonders how I dare to be there in his territory!

Olive Thrush 3

Olive Thrush 3

He is the one saying, Here’s looking at you, kid!

 

32 thoughts on “Here’s Looking at You, Kid!

  1. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy

    I saw the first picture and went, “Olive Thrush.” I would like to say it’s because I really recognized it, but I mostly just went “it looks like a robin but it’s in South Africa, so that means it’s an olive thrush.” Apparently, this is now how I identify birds!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. violetonlineisonline

    I sometimes think birds know stuff.
    before my mother died she used to feed a little brown pigeon.
    after her death, the pigeon would come sit next to my dad on his bench outside, HE HAD NEVER DONE THAT BEFORE!
    wise birds…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

